Album review
Yami Bolo
High Zion Productions

Tracking list

  1. Empress I Love You
  2. Pray
  3. Good Must Conquer Evil
  4. Sanctify Yourself
  5. I-thiopia with Al Pancho & Prince Bob
  6. Liberation with Capleton
  7. Talk Bout Slavery with General Jah Mikey & Bunny Mystic
  8. Accident
  9. Do No Evil
  10. Hail The Conquering Lion with Ras Michael
  11. Crownation Glory
  12. Safeguard
  13. Bingi with Ras Michael
  14. Y Mas Gan
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Yami Bolo (born Rolando McLean, 1970, Kingston, Jamaica) started his musical career at a tender age singing on Sugar Minott's Youth Promotion sound system. He recorded his debut single "When A Man's In Love" for producer Winston "Techniques" Riley in 1985, which was followed by several other singles including "Jah Made Them All", "Roots Pon Mi Corner", "Ransom Of A Man's Life", "Poverty & Brutality" and "Struggle In Babylon". In 1989 he cut his first album with singer/producer Junior Delgado, which later that year was followed by the Augustus Pablo produced vocal/dub set "Jah Made Them All". Throughout the nineties Yami Bolo continued to record singles and albums for various producers and also set up his own "Yam Euphony" label.
Performing cultural reggae and getting it out worldwide has always been Bolo's main goal as once again can be experienced while listening to his latest cd entitled "Rebelution". On this brandnew set we're treated to fourteen tracks, some of them including guest appearances. Most notable contribution is Capleton's fiery delivery on "Liberation", which turns this song into one of the standouts. Truly worth of hearing are "Pray", "Good Must Conquer Evil", the wicked combination tune "Talk Bout Slavery", the awesome "Safeguard" and the beautiful "Accident", the latter a tune livicated to Bro. Mumia Abu Jamal in memory of Paul Wellstone. All tunes featured here are originals delivered in Yami Bolo's well known so-called Waterhouse style vocal delivery, solidly backed by the Majestic Ministry which includes players of instruments such as Santa Davis (drums), Jah David (bass), Jawge Hughes (keyboard), Gary "Jah Oil" Watson (guitar), Bunny Mystic (guitar), Jah David (guitar), Sky Juice (percussion), Bongo Herman (percussion), Danny Moynahan (saxophone) and Benjamin Adamson (trumpet, flugel). Tracks are recorded by renown Scientist and Thomas Delaveccio at Golden Trax Studios in Escondido, California, and mixed by Delroy "Fatta" Pottinger at Anchor Recording Studio in Kingston, Jamaica.
Forget about digitally-generated tracks and do-over riddims, this is the real deal. Roots rebel reggae for the heart, mind, and soul!

Teacher & Mr. T.