Reckless Roots Rockers
Reckless Breed
November 3, 2006

Track list
  1. Dub Full Of Girls - Reckless Breed
  2. Under World - Reckless Breed
  3. Explosure - Sylvesters
  4. Roots Rockers - Reckless Breed
  5. Chin Chow - Reckless Breed
  6. Reckless Roots - Soul Syndicate
  7. Prepare Jah Man - Jah Carlos
  8. Grand Slam - Reckless Breed
  9. City Line - Bullwackie All-Stars
  10. Creation - Bullwackie All-Stars
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
This CD presents "Reckless Roots Rockers" an album released in 1977 on Lloyd 'Bullwackie' Barnes' Senrab label, yet another great rerelease in the string of classic Wackies albums that have been (re)released by Berlin dub-techno duo Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus a.k.a. Rhythm & Sound, as part of their rerelease program of the complete Wackie's catalog, (more on Rhythm & Sound's own releases, whether technodub on Basic Channel or their Rhythm & Sound label can be found at the Basic Channel website). With dry & crisp riddims, most originally recorded at King Tubby's, given the dub treatment by Prince Douglas and Jah Upton alongside Lloyd Barnes himself at Sounds Unlimited studio on East 24th Street in Manhattan like the tunes on the earlier released "Dub Unlimited", this is a pure treat, with the Reckless Breed (in fact the Soul Syndicate) dubbing up in the first two tracks vocal tunes that were included on "Reggae Goodies Vol. 1 & 2" the Love Joys' "I Belong To You" (a Barry White homage issued on Versatile 7") as "Dub Full Of Girls" and Joe Morgan's "Basement Session" as "Under World", followed by the Sylvesters' bone dry "Explosure" and the bubbling "Roots Rockers" by the Reckless Breed. "Chin Chow" is a dedication to the Chinese restaurant next door in White Plains Road, dubbed up as "Bullwackies Revenge" on "Dub Unlimited", before the title track "Reckless Roots", a great version of Wackies' 'Black Harmony'-riddim (over which the vocal is delivered by Don Carlos as Jah Carlos on "Reggae Goodies Vol. 1 & 2") and Don Carlos' superb in Jamaica (once more as Jah Carlos) voiced "Prepare Jah Man" follow. This beautiful dub album (with the Don Carlos vocal being the exception) closes with two John Clarke dubs (of which the originals can be found on "Rootsy Reggae / Visions Of John Clarke", "City Line", the dub of "You Like To Borrow" and finally "Creation", a truly mighty dub to close with. Another very very welcome addition to everyone's dub and reggae collection in the great ongoing series of Wackies rereleases from Basic Channel.