Album review
Carlene Davis
Jet Star / VP Records-Walboomers Music
31 - 10 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. I Shall Not Be Moved
  2. Standing In The Ashes
  3. Lord I Lift Your Name On High
  4. Redeemed
  5. Lord I Give You Me Heart
  6. It Must Be Love
  7. This Island Needs Jesus
  8. Jesus Is Coming
  9. Nothing But The Blood
  10. Light Of Jesus
  11. Inna Dis Yah Country
  12. Hellelujah Medley
  13. Bodyguard
  14. This Island Needs Jesus (Brawta Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Carlene Davis her career was carefully orchestrated by renowned producer and promoter Tommy Cowan. Her musical output was characterized by slick, professional standards, addressing a wide variety of styles both in and outside of the reggae idiom. Carlene Davis is blessed with a beautifully seasoned voice which makes you yearn for more with every beautiful note. Her latest album 'Redeemed' album contains 13 tunes which stay in the sentimental arena and praise the creator with all the energy that he is due. On the album you will find sophisticated spiritual songs including three duets with Junior Tucker -Lord I Lift Your Name On High-, with deejay Papa San -It Must Be Love- and with Naomi Cowan -Nothing But The Blood-. Furthermore the album features the eleven minutes Hallelujah Medley. There's also a late night jazz song on the album entitled Bodyguard.
The vocal qualities of Carlene are outstanding and if you're on the gospel side of reggae you'd better check out this album.

Teacher & Mr. T.