Album review
Red, Green & Gold
Mikey General
VP Records-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. The Message
  2. Joy
  3. Red, Green & Gold
  4. The Word For The Children
  5. Praise His Name
  6. Give Me Strength
  7. Pick Yourself Up feat. Daddy Screw & Blessed
  8. He That Keepeth
  9. You
  10. Willing To Walk
  11. Just Call On Me
  12. Pick Yourself Up
  13. Warning
  14. Zion We A Go
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Mikey General (real name Michael Taylor) started his musical career singing with Jamaican then English sound systems. Early musical influences include Horace Andy, Sugar Minot and Barrington Levy. Joining forces with Phillip "Fatis" Burrell's Xterminator crew (including Luciano, Sizzla and others) in 1992 the hits began to flow. "Miss Taylor Boy", "Unseen Blessings" and "Sinners" were the core hits that not only put the singer on the reggae map, but also brought him to the attention of an international audience. It led to a previous VP Records album in 1995 titled "Stronger" (also released by Jet Star as "Sinners"), followed by "I'm Just A Rastaman" in 1997. In 1998, after having left the Xterminator camp, Mikey went on to become a partner in Jah Messenjah Productions with Luciano, writing, producing and performing.
"Red, Green & Gold" is Mikey General's brand new album produced by the mighty Dean "Cannon" Fraser. It's recorded at renowned Tuff Gong Studios with Steven Stanley at the controls and features great musicians such as Sly Dunbar, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Paul "Wrong Move" Crossdale, Michael Fletcher, Robbie Lyn, Christopher Birch, Dean Fraser and members of the Firehouse Crew. As usual this distinctive singer treats us to healing, inspirational lyrics and messages of personal upliftment. Musically spoken this set has a predominantly smooth and mellow flow that embraces "old school" influences and classic reggae. The album opens with "Message", just like the acoustic "The Word For The Children" and "Praise His Name" a non-reggae track, that strongly expresses "heal the world" sentiments. With "Joy" and "Red, Green & Gold" he delivers the kind of tunes that brought him to the forefront of contemporary reggae music. "Give Me Strength" is a nice effort, followed by the wicked "Pick Yourself Up", a combination tune featuring Daddy Screw and unknown deejay Blessed, delivered over a refurnished version of Dennis Brown's "Sitting and Watching". With "He That Keepeth" Mikey brings a moving spiritual song worth of hearing. "You", over a new version of Roman Stewart's "Natty Sings Hit Songs", is a rather mediocre tune that is outmatched by "Willing To Walk", an excellent effort over an updated version of a classic riddim. The solid "Just Call On Me" drops before we're treated to the solo version of "Pick Yourself Up". The last two tracks on this set are performed over revitalized Treasure Isle riddims. First there's Ken Parker's tune, "I Can't Hide", utilized for the solid "Warning" and then "Those Guys" by the Sensations - also used for Beres Hammond's hit "They Gonna Talk" - for the outstanding "Zion We A Go".
"Red, Green & Gold" is a well varied album that will surely find its way to the reggae massive.

Teacher & Mr. T.