Album review
Reggae On A Cool Vibe
06 - 11 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Reggae De Pon A Cool Vibe
  2. Oh Jah
  3. Educate Yourself
  4. Melting Pot
  5. An Dem Ting Deh
  6. Great Gran
  7. Wolf Like Sheep
  8. Fire
  9. Sexy Ladies
  10. Love Letters
  11. Give My Love A Try
  12. I Don't Wanna Cry
  13. Bandit Woman
  14. On The Tip Of My Tongue
  15. Ecstatic
  16. Educate Dub
  17. Guitar Vibe
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

As a matter of fact MereOli is more of a project than a real artist or group. Backed by musicians like Connis Vanterpool, Ronald Meredith, Bernie Pitters, Dwayne Jefrey and Chris Garvey the songs are delivered by the four vocalists Jet (on tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 10, 13 & 15), Aloweetious (track 5), Vigarious (tracks 6 & 9) and Doug E. Mack (tracks 7, 11 & 12). All singers and musicians involved have succeeded in making "Reggae On A Cool Vibe" a nice and varied album. Lovers songs as well as message tunes are part of this set, all delivered across a sophisticated reggae sound. Although every song has its own merits, not every track included is a winner. However, that doesn't mean that there isn't enough to enjoy. Particularly the tracks that were voiced by Jet and Doug E. Mack are well worth checking out and incorporate the standout tracks : the nyahbinghi flavoured "Oh Jah", "Wolf Like Sheep" and "Fire".

Teacher & Mr. T.