Album review
Reggae Worship ~ The First Fruits Of Christafari
Lion Of Zion Entertainment
05 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Live It - Intro (1999)
  2. Preach The Gospel (1999)
  3. Jah Is I Light (1993)
  4. The Blood Of Jesus (1993)
  5. Selah (Original Version 1993)
  6. Majesty (1993)
  7. Jah Yard- Interlude (1993)
  8. Jesus First (1993)
  9. Tribal War- Interlude (1993)
  10. Armageddon (1992)
  11. Daniel 7:13-14- Interlude (1993)
  12. Ancient Of Days (1993)
  13. Lift Him Up & Dub It Up Daily (1998)
  14. Lord I Lift Your Name On High (1993)
  15. I Holy One (1993)
  16. Wisdom (1993)
  17. Once A Man & Twice A Child/Born Again (1993)
  18. Preach The Gospel- Instrumental (1999)
  19. Higher Meditation (1993)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Since its inception, Christafari has been a trailblazer, pioneering a new genre of Gospel Reggae in the U.S. and throughout the world. With their blend of traditional Roots, mixed with contemporary Dancehall Reggae, they proclaim a positive message of hope to this generation. Christafari (pronounced CHRIST-AH-FAR-EYE, in Greek, the original language of the New Testament, Christafari is the name given to "a group of people who collectively represent Christ.") was founded in 1989 by songwriter, producer, and lead vocalist, Mark Mohr. Raised in a Christian family, Mark strayed from his Godly upbringing and, during his teens, became involved in hard drugs and alcohol. As an answer to many prayers, the Lord delivered Mark from his addictions at a Christian camp at the age of 17. After serious prayer, God impressed on his heart to start the first Christian reggae band in America.
"The best advice I was ever given was to go to Bible College so I could be theologically and doctrinally sound," says Mark. He studied at Biola University in Los Angeles, majoring in Christian Education. During his years at Biola, the group began to take shape as Mark wrote songs for Christafari's first and second albums. Now an ordained Pastor, Mark has spent over thirteen years ministering and performing, bringing a unique brand of gospel reggae to nearly every state and some twenty countries around the world.
The album "Reggae Worship ~ The First Fruits Of Christafari" is a kind of compilation set, containing the original songs from Christafari's first release, Reggae Worship Volume 1 (1993), and previously unreleased bonus tracks recorded by the band during the period 1992-1999. Their first album, "Reggae Worship Volume One" was the first fruits of the band, an offering of worship for the Body of Christ. Since then the band has recorded several succesful reggae/gospel albums. The growing success of Christafari isn't hard to understand. Mark Mohr is an excellent musiscian, songwriter, arranger and producer. He has the ability to incorporate the real Jamaican vibes into his reggae/gospel productions, thus creating some excellent tunes everyone can enjoy.

Teacher & Mr. T.