Album review
Reign Of Fire
VP Records-Walboomers Music
Promo CD
October 31 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Jah Is My Everything
  2. That Day Will Come
  3. Wise Up People
  4. Or Wah
  5. Real Hot
  6. Ton Load
  7. Steppin' Up
  8. Never Share(Burn Dem)
  9. Undeniable
  10. Sunshine Girl Feat. Stephen Marley
  11. In Her Heart
  12. Who Yu Callin' Nigga
  13. Open Your Eyes
  14. Leaders Let The People Down
  15. All My Life
  16. Standing Ovation
  17. Remember The Days
  18. Fire Haffi Burn
  19. Jah By My Side
  20. Number One Song
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Clifton Bailey, born 13 April 1967, Islington, St. Mary, Jamaica earned his future stage name by virtue of his sharp reasoning skills, which led his friends to name him after a lawyer in his home town. By 1994, Capleton's work for the African Star label had led to him being regarded as one of the most innovative cultural DJs of his generation. "Number One (On The Good Look Chart)" on Jah Life first caught the attention of the dancehall audience in 1990 and was Capleton's debut hit. Capleton Gold was released in 1991 and compiled many of his recordings for various producers, including Philip "Fatis" Burrell ("Bumbo Red"/"Bible Fi Dem"), King Jammy ("The Red"), Roof International ("Dem No Like Me"), Peterkins ("We No Lotion Man") and Black Scorpio ("Ghetto Youth"/"Somebody"). In the same year he sang on half an album for Gussie P ("Double Trouble"), combined with Johnny Osbourne on "Special Guest" on Outernational, released several tracks for African Star and duetted on "Young, Fresh And Green" with Bobby Zarro. He visited the UK with Pan Head in December amid controversy over a shooting at a London venue. He also recorded "Dance Can't Done" for the Brixton-based label, Jungle Rock. On his return to Jamaica, Capleton began recording for Burrell's Exterminator label. "Almshouse" (1992) was a rallying cry for unification through music and demonstrated that Capleton could address social and cultural topics with the same perceptiveness as his characteristic "slackness". In a successful year, he released an album for Burrell and had hits with "F.C.T.", "Matey A Dead", "Make Hay" and "Unno Hear". In 1993, he maintained his profile with the singles "Everybody Needs Somebody", "Mankind" for Colin Fat, "Good Love", "Stampede" for Mad House, "Cold Blooded Murderer" for Black Scorpio and the rabid "Buggering" for African Star. He also recorded combinations with Brian And Tony Gold and Nadine Sutherland, and worked with Gussie Clarke. In the USA, a hip-hop mix of the smash hit "Tour" prompted Def Jam Records to sign him for the remarkable "Prophecy". The album "I-Testament" saw Capleton at the peak of his powers. In recent years his dominance in reggae dancehall has grown to iconic levels as can be witnessed by his numerous hit singles and the rave reviews of his awesome "More Fire" album and the equally enjoyable album "Still Blazing" which he released in 2002.
In the two years since his last album, Capleton, (a.k.a. 'King', 'King Shango', 'Fire Man', 'Dada', 'Prophet', and even 'Almighty') has mounted a strong track record on the Jamaican charts. It was observed recently, that there are three artists ruling Jamaica’s airwaves Elephant Man, Vybz Kartel and Capleton. With hits like "Fire Time" across the "Mad Instruments" riddim, "In Her Heart" riding the "Chrome" riddim and "Blazing Hot" that comes on the "Red Alert" riddim the 'Fire Man' has made his presence felt. The release of a Capleton album is like an event in reggae music. The new album "Reign Of Fire" includes core hits such as In Her Heart, Real Hot, That Day Will Come and Burn Dem and blazing exclusives that have not been released before, from some of Jamaica’s most sought after producers such as Bobby 'Digital' Dixon, Ian 'Gitsy' Forester, Michael Sterling, Dwayne 'Fire Links' Johnson and Fabien 'Goldy' Francis. From the production house Ghetto Youths International comes the only combination tune: Sunshine Girl with Stephen Marley. The vibes here are roots and consciousness with the familiar hits blended in for context. The noteworthy Digital B track Ton Load happens to be a blazing ganja anthem, while Who Yu Callin' Nigga is an extremely wild an wicked tune across Black Chiney's "Kopa" riddim. On the other hand you will find a 'romantic' tune like Remember The Days on the album. Typical boomblast Capleton roots tunes are Leaders Let The People Down and Steppin' Up. One of the many top notch tunes here is the Bobby Digital production Never Share(Burn Dem) across Bob's "Forever Loving Jah" riddim, just like his rendition of the "Hard Times" riddim called That Day Will Come.
Overall, we wouldn't describe the album as a typical dancehall set, it's a damn good roots reggae set with some blazin' dancehall tracks. Go and get it..trust us!

Teacher & Mr. T.