Album review
Remixed - Dubwise
Twilight Circus Dub Soundsystem
M Records
July 29 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Big Youth - Love Is What We Need (GCorp Disco Roots Remix)
  2. Ranking Joe - Don't Follow Babylon (Blood And Fire Meets Wai Wan Remix - 'Dub Shop Style')
  3. Twilight Circus - Mega Hall (Steven Stanley Remix)
  4. Mykal Rose - No Burial (Rob Smith Remix)
  5. Ranking Joe - World In Trouble (Vibronics 'Ska Boom' Remix)
  6. Luciano - What We Got To Do (GCorp Remix)
  7. Michael Rose - Throw Some Stone (Disciples Remix)
  8. Twilight Circus - Session (Mad Professor Remix)
  9. Michael Rose - No Burial (Manasseh Remix)
  10. Brother Culture - Foundation Rockers (Disciples Remix)
  11. Luciano - What We Got To Do (Zion Train Remix)
  12. Luciano - What We Got To Dub (Zion Train Remix)
  13. Brother Culture - Foundation Rockers Dub (Disciples Dub Mix)
  14. Twilight Circus - Session Dub (Mad Professor Dub Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

Multi-instrumentalist, producer and engineer Ryan Moore is Twilight Circus (Dub Sound System). He is a Canadian now based in Nijmegen, The Netherlands. Ryan grew up in the dense, gummy forests of Vancouver, where he was exposed to reggae at an early age. He became obsessed with the genre & learned to play multiple instruments by playing along with classic Jamaican recordings. By 1981, Ryan was working as a studio musician for Nettwerk Records. He went on to become a member of Legendary Pink Dots, and Tear Garden (with cEvin Key of Skinny Puppy). His obsession with dub & reggae was very strong and soon began experimenting with dubs. Ryan plays and mixes all the tracks himself in the studio he built himself with the analog gear he painstakingly sought out and purchased himself. Instead of digital gear, Ryan often uses live instrumentation (all the way down to single drum hits themselves) and mixes his dubs live. In other words, he is a one-man dub army. In 1995 he released his first album as Twilight Circus Dub Sound System on his own M Records. He has since gone on to release over 11 albums and countless singles, EPs, & Dub plates to worldwide acclaim & respect from his peers.
The latter is evidenced on the 2003 released album "Foundation Rockers", which featured awesome collaborations with Mykal Rose of Black Uhuru, Luciano, Ranking Joe and the legendary Big Youth. The album "Remixed : Dubwise" collects most of the songs featured on "Foundation Rockers" inna wild and wicked remixed stylee. Remix masters on the case here are the Mad Professor, GFCorp, Rob Smith, Disciples, Zion Train, Blood and Fire Crew, Vibronics, Manasseh and Steven Stanley. The tracks were remixed at the following studios: Ariwa Sounds - London, Steven Stanley Studio - Kingston, Elephant House - Birmingham, Backyard Studio - London, Bathysphere - Leicester, BAF Studio - Manchester, Early Bird Studio - Bristol, Eccentric Directions - London, Twilight Mobile - NL & UK, Zion Train Studio - Cologne, Postraphaelite Studio - Somerset, Amazing Music - London.
The awesome strong original songs combined with the colourful mix of dub styles, ranging from disco to deep roots brings forth a more than solid album with not one single weak tune! It's an album not only for the dubheads, but for anyone who is interested in 100% creativity in music. Recommended stuff!

For more information contact: Ryan Moore - M Records, P.O. Box 469, 6500 AL Nijmegen The Netherlands.
Tel/Fax: (+31) 24 -3603984.
Web Site : Twilght Circus Dub Sound System

Teacher & Mr. T.