Album review
Dean Fraser
VP Records - Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Love In The Seventh Heaven
  2. Africa Featuring The Mighty Diamonds
  3. Mento In Sax Featuring Bongo Herman
  4. Got To Get Away Featuring Beres Hammond
  5. My Sax
  6. Garden Of Eden - Featuring Daddy Rings, Nambo Robinson & David Madden
  7. Enlighten Memories
  8. This One’s For Melba Liston
  9. Heavy Load
  10. A Song
  11. Pure Delight
  12. Astro Mental Sax
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Dean Fraser emerged in the mid-seventies, but it was with fellow musicians "Nambo" Robinson and "Chico" Chinn that he established his name when they became the foremost horn section throughout the eighties. By now his musical credits are numerous. In recent years Dean Fraser became the dominating musical force behind many Xterminator productions with Luciano's "Where There Is Life" album probably being the most critical acclaimed effort. Since Dean Fraser's debut album "Black Horn Man" - produced by Joe Gibbs and released in 1978 - Jamaica’s most popular and sought after musician has released a respectable number of fine albums including "Sings And Blows", "Big Up" and "Dean Plays Bob". The - in association with Phillip "Fatis" Burrell - self-produced "Retrospect" set is Dean Fraser's fifth album release with VP Records and the follow-up to his "Slow Melodies" album. From beginning to end you are treated to melodic ballads to soothe your mind and soul from the super saxofonist himself including some fine guest appearances as well. Excellent musicianship, fine arrangements and a decent choice of tunes make this album a very enjoyable effort with "Africa", "This One's For Melba Liston" and "A Song" being our favourites. It's obvious that Dean Fraser carries the flag of a unique Jamaican saxophone tradition that goes back to the likes of the late greats Tommy McCook and Roland Alphonso.

Teacher & Mr. T.