Revolutionary Dream (2010 Reissue)
Pablo Moses
Socadisc/Grounded Music/House Of Moses/Acoustic Music
November 21, 2010

Pablo Moses Track list
  1. I Love I Bring
  2. Be Not A Dread
  3. Give I Fe I Name
  4. We Should Be In Angola
  5. Come Mek We Run
  6. Revolutionary Dream
  7. Where Am I
  8. I Man A Grasshopper
  9. Corrupted Man
  10. Blood Money
  11. Lonely Singer
  12. Don't Force Me Dub
  13. Live To Love Dub
  14. Rastaman Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Pablo Moses burst onto the reggae scene in 1975 with the puzzling song "I Man A Grasshopper" from his debut album 'Revolutionary Dream'. The song title refers the title character of the then popular television series Kung Fu though it tells the story of a drunken ex-cop who turns in a ganja-smoking singer. It was an enormous hit in both Jamaica and England, but Moses himself remained fairly unknown.

He was born Pablo Henry in the rural Manchester part of Jamaica. But for two years spent in New York City, he remained a country boy until his desire to perform became too strong. Moses got his start performing with informal school bands. He and chum Don Prendes eventually formed the Canaries, which remained his back-up group, and began performing at talent shows. They also auditioned for Duke Reid and at Dodd's Studio One with little success. Following the success of "I Man a Grasshopper" Moses released a few more singles, including "We Should Be In Angola" but for some reason, they did better in England than they did in Jamaica. The song "Give I Fe I Name" was an exception. 'Revolutionary Dream' was acclaimed, but it brought him little profit and Moses decided to back off from the music scene for a while.

During this time, he spent two years studying at the Jamaica School of Music. It was there that he gathered a new group of musicians and began performing at night clubs, theaters and on campus. They also made a television show that was quite popular in Jamaica. In 1980, Moses returned to reggae with 'A Song', (1980) an innovative album produced by Moses and Geoffery Chung that was recorded in Jamaica using the island's finest session players and the remixed in London. The result was a multi-layered blend of roots and sophisticated international reggae that many consider Moses' masterpiece. After the release of that album Moses gained a strong following in Jamaica, Europe, North America and Japan. Moses' Rastafarian themes, the crusade against injustice, inequality, greed, racism, war, and the pillage of nature were and are universal in their scope. With his revolutionary lyrics that are sociologically, political and culturally connected he is well known all over the wotrld.

Producer Chung produced a follow-up, 'Pave the Way'. Since then he continues recording and has toured extensively in Canada, U.S.A. South America, Central America, Europe, Scandinavia and the Caribbean.

Pablo Moses is one of the artists who have been struggling to regain control of their catalogue. Like Burning Spear many of the tracks were produced by some shady Jamaican producer and the copyrights were not in the hands of the artist most of the times. Now that Pablo Moses succeeded in regaining control he thought it was time to bring out a reissue of 2 of his most successful albums ever. "Revolutionary Dream" from 1975, originally released on the Jigsaw label and later rereleased in 1978 as "I Love I Bring" was Pablo Moses' debut album. Groundbreaking music at that time with Pablo's unique synthesizer sounds and scratchy voice. The album was recorded at Black Ark and Randy's studios in Kingston. Engineers on board were Lee 'Scratch' Perry, Karl Pitterson, Errol Thompson and Pat Kelly. Below you'll find a list of musicians involved.

The reissue is remastered by Jim Fox in his famous studio and contains 3 extra tracks, all of them dub workouts of original vocal tracks: Don't Force Me Dub, Live To Love Dub and Rastaman Dub.

  • Vocals : Pablo Moses
  • Backing Vocals : Don Prendes & Val Bailey
  • Drums : Mikey Boo Richards & Horsemouth Wallace
  • Bass : Geoffrey Chung & Junior Dan & Clive Hunt
  • Guitar : Michael Chung & Michael Murray & Phil Callendar
  • Organ : Geoffrey Chung & Robert Lynn & Clive Hunt & Junior Dan
  • Piano : Robert Lynn & Clive Hunt
  • Synthesiser : Robert Lynn
  • Trumpet : Frank Aird
  • Trombone : Vin Gordon
  • Tenor Saxophone : Dirty Harry & Tommy McCook
  • Flute : Tommy McCook
  • Clavinet : Robert Lynn
  • Percussions : Bongo Herman