Album review
Higher Love Music

Tracking list

  1. Jah Glory
  2. Truth Will Reveal
  3. Turn Your Hate Around
  4. Apple
  5. My Defense
  6. Ras Tafari
  7. Black Tuesday
  8. Ahome And Abroad
  9. Revolution Souljah
  10. Rainbow Generation
  11. Bondage
  12. Trod A Ithiopia
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Nasio (Fontaine) hails from Bagatell/Carte-Bois, a small village on the southeastern coast of Dominica. In October 1990 he recorded a five-song EP album entitled 'Babylon Is Falling'. Two years later he traveled to Jamaica's Mixing Lab Studios to record his first full length album Reggae Power. This album reflects Nasio's deep devotion to Rastafari over some wicked original riddims.
His current album is the twelve-track cd Revolution. Throughout the album the vibe is uplifting, spiritual and compelling. Although the beat is traditional, the sound is strictly 90s and his message is timeless.
The two first upbeat tracks have been released as a cd single. Turn Your Hate Around is one of the most outstanding tracks on the album, with strong lyrics and reminiscent to the sound of Bob Marley. Apple is a powerfull track, lyrically referring to the theme of the rotten apple : "..though the apple look rosy on the outside, yet Jah know that it rotten on the inside..".
Then there's the masterful praising song My Defense, one of my favorite songs on this album. It's followed by Ras Tafari complete with nyabinghi drums. The next track - Black Tuesday- was written with Ital Joe and refers to a brutal police shooting.
The pop orientated Ahome And Abroad features some nice guitar solos as well as a sax solo by Sylvester 'Sly' Scott. The next track -Revolution Souljah- features the 'double drumming' style of the mid 70s Channel One releases. Bondage deals with slavery and "Chris-thief-a Crumble-Us" (Christopher Columbus)", over a pounding riddim. The album closes with the nyabinghi song Trod A Ithiopia.
The album is recorded and mixed at Hafilion Studios and produced by Nasio and Lenny Shillingford (executive producer).
Revolution is definitely an album worth getting !

Teacher & Mr. T.