Album review
Monty G
Lion Of Zion Entertainment
03 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Got To Know (feat. Dj Frost)
  2. True Love
  3. Hey ! Christian Party (feat. Yankee)
  4. Know Right Now
  5. Jesus Christ Be For Us (feat LBC)
  6. Who You ?
  7. Youth Stand Strong
  8. Behave
  9. Ready
  10. Revolution
  11. Eenie Meenie Miney Moe (feat. Lion's Pride)
  12. Just Imagine
  13. Got To Praise Him (feat. Lion's Pride)
  14. Life Over Death
  15. Das A Vibe (feat. Lion's Pride & Avala)
  16. Christian Man Will Rise
  17. Come To The Altar
  18. Revolution (Urban Remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

We first noticed Monty G, when he appeared on two tracks of the 'Raggamuffin Hip Hop' album, and he made a decent impression there. Now he comes up with his debut set on the Christian Reggae Dancehall label 'Lion of Zion'. The label specializes in releasing contemporary reggae and dancehall albums, bringing a unique brand of gospel reggae to nearly every state and some twenty countries around the world.
With influences from Beenie Man to Bounty Killer, and Shaggy to Sizzla, Monty G ferociously tears up the mic over both original and standard (hardcore) dancehall rhythms. Monty G hails from the Bahamas, but the culture of Jamaican dancehall permeates the album, as the album lashes out seventeen rhythms packed with high tech, head swelling bass. The themes found here are Spiritual warfare and the negative influence of media on the youth of today and Monty challenges his listening audience to shift their focus from the physical and the temporal to the spiritual and the eternal. Monty G has delivered a varied album, check out the mellow sounding True Love, then switch to Behave, which comes across an excellent riddim and then listen to the roots tune Youth Stand Strong, which is delivered across Morgan Heritage's awesome 'Liberation' riddim. The slow paced Eenie Meenie Miney Moe is a standout tune he does with Lion's Pride. Got To Praise Him is another fine duet with Lion's Pride who sounds like Wayne Wonder. The poppy Come To the Altar is a decent effort. The last track (18) features a hidden track, so don't turn off your cd player when you wanna be treated to a thumping dancehall track.
With "Revolution" Monty G has delivered an outstanding dancehall/gospel album.

Teacher & Mr. T.