Raging Fyah
Dub Rockers
CD / LP / Digital release
May 27, 2016

Track list
  1. Everlasting
  2. Justice
  3. Live Your Life feat. J Boog & Busy Signal
  4. Dash Wata
  5. Ready For Love
  6. Humble feat. Jesse Royal
  7. RaggaMuffin
  8. Try Again
  9. Get Up
  10. Would You Love Me feat. Busy Signal
  11. Happiness
  12. Wondering
  13. Getting Dread
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 5-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 9
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
After having gained notable attention and appreciation with their self-released albums "Judgement Day" (2011) and "Destiny" (2015) and having excited those who attended their performances around the world, Raging Fyah - the 5-piece roots reggae band out of Kingston, Jamaica - now comes up with a third studio album entitled "Everlasting", which has been highly anticipated by their steadily growing fan base.

For this project, Raging Fyah members Kumar Bent (lead vocals), Courtland White (guitar), Anthony Watson (drums), Demar Gayle (keys), and Delroy Hamilton (bass) chose to work with esteemed Jamaican producer Llamar "Riff Raff" Brown, who in the past decade has produced tracks for top artists such as Damian "Jr Gong" Marley, Queen Ifrica, Busy Signal, Tarrus Riley, Morgan Heritage and Jah Cure, to name only six. All tracks were recorded live at the legendary Tuff Gong Studios with guest musicians such as Dean Fraser, Nambo Robinson, Dwight Richards, Denver Smith, Sheldon Palmer, Everol Wray and Hector Lewis.

On their "Destiny" album, Raging Fyah came up with a few tracks that had a strong crossover appeal, due to their poppy reggae feel. And that's also the case here with pop-oriented reggae songs like "Dash Wata", "Ready For Love" and the funky groovin' "Would You Love Me", one of two collaboration tunes done with Busy Signal. Not that these tunes are weak efforts, but it's doubtful whether they will get the real reggae fan excited. This can also be said about "Happiness", a cheerful song that sounds nice at first- and even second - hear, but fails to leave a lasting impression. Luckily the aforementioned tracks are easily outweighed by a number of powerful songs that, along with some real solid efforts, make "Everlasting" an album truly worth checking by any lover of roots reggae music.

The first-class, modern roots sound that Raging Fyah is able to create comes to the fore on the album opener and title track "Everlasting". This great roots piece is a good example of the kind of tunes that are brought by roots reggae revivalists from Jamaica like for example Chronixx, Kabaka Pyramid, Iba Mahr or Protoje. Although musically the subsequent "Justice" creates a different vibe, it's a matching effort and thus worth hearing more than once. Another big tune is "Raggamuffin", which is known from Dub Rockers' sampler "Reggae Dubs And Dabs EP" and, just like "Everlasting", is one of the album's standouts. And then there's also "Get Up", which starts with an emotional sounding violin & piano intro before it turns into a slow-paced sufferer's tune that vocally and lyrically impresses. Also leaving a serious impression is the album closer "Getting Dread", a deep roots tune that belongs to the highlights of this album. And so does the uplifting "Try Again", another winner with a real nice ear-catching melodica part played by Demar Gayle. When it comes to the collaborations included here, it's "Humble" with Jesse Royal that can be regarded as the most noteworthy tune. Also worth hearing, although not as strong as "Humble", is "Live Your Life" with contributions by J Boog and Busy Signal.

Even though not every track is a winner, the overall quality makes this third Raging Fyah album well worth checking.