Album review
Rids The World Of The Evil Curse Of The Vampires
19 - 07 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. The Voodoo Curse
  2. Dance Of The Vampires
  3. Blood On His Lips
  4. Cry Of The Werewolf
  5. The Mummy's Shroud
  6. The Corpse Rises
  7. Night Of The Living Dead
  8. Your Teeth In My Neck
  9. Plague Of Zombies
  10. Ghost Of Frankenstein
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

One of the UK's most famous reggae labels, Greensleeves, celebrates it's 25th birthday in 2001. They have come a long way from it's origins as a West London record store selling all types of music to local fans. To mark this first quarter century they are re-issuing many albums from their extensive back catalogue. These albums are all Digitally Re-mastered and are at a special cheaper price. Titles range from early Roots and Dub, through the heady days of 80's Dancehall to today's hardcore Ragga, and feature just about all of Reggae's Superstars from 1976 to the modern day. Since the 1970's Greensleeves has remained at the cutting edge of Jamaican music, promoting each successive wave - Reggae, Dub, Dancehall and Ragga - to a world-wide audience. It's first releases were instantly successful: Dr. Alimatado's legendary 'Best Dressed Chicken In Town' crossed over to achieve cult status in the punk era, and Greensleeves built on this success with a catalogue brimful of classic albums and huge crossover hits like Shaggy's 'Oh Carolina', Beenie Man's 'Who Am I?' and Mr. Vegas' 'Heads High'.
One of the most brilliant apprentices of King Tubby was Hopeton 'Scientist' Brown. He was only 16 when he started his career and mixed numerous tracks for several Jamaican producers. He became one of the household names in the dub reggae world and often considered the last of the great Jamaican dub mixers. In the early 80s Greensleeves put out some classic Scientist dub sets and this one comes from 1981 and features the Roots Radics as musicians and Junjo Lawes as producer. In fact it was the third Scientist/Lawes album and it used the world of zombies, werewolves, voodoo and other horror imagery for the sleeve, intro's and titles. Producer Junjo Lawes could pick out of dozens of great vocal tunes and for this set he concentrated on The Wailing Souls, Michael Prophet and Johnny Osbourne.

Teacher & Mr. T.