Album review
Rise Again Truth
Tchiya Amet
Milky Way Productions

Tracking list

  1. Natural Life
  2. Lakota : 4 Directions
  3. Best Thing Yet
  4. Natural Woman
  5. Rastafari Is Universal
  6. Tsalagi Thankful
  7. Reservation Ragtime Blues
  8. Tribe Of Dinah
  9. Shed No Blood
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5

Born August 5,1961 and raised on Chicago's South Side, Tchiya Amet studied physics & Jazz piano at Oberlin College and graduate level Astronomy at UT-Austin. Reggae music opened the door for her to Roots, Culture and the Natural Life. Tchiya Amet has performed with Irie Jane, One Nation, The Presidents, Dogon Sirius, Karison, World Tribe, Kayumanggi & Issac Haile Selassie. Her other activities include home schooling her two lovely daughters, festival production, yoga, organic gardening, "soccer mom", cultural astronomy, Natural Life Organic Food Co-operative, Children's Theater Musical Director.
Here current album "Rise Again Truth" is a fine collection of songs dealing with themes like righteouness, Rastafari, social commentary and roots. All tunes found here is original material She sings about the Indians who live in the reservations and one song -Tsalagi Thankful- is a Cherokee Thanksgiving tune, while "Hu" : 4 Directions is the ancient Kemet (Egyptian) phrase for the Sphinx, symbolizing fire, air, water, earth; body, mind, soul, spirit as well as the four directions. The smooth and jazzy arrangements and the use of real instruments make a good impression and the vocal delivery of Tchiya reminds me of the UK vocalist Sade. Noteworthy is the predominant use of the horns section. Highlights of the album are Natural Life, Natural Woman, Tsalagi Thankful and Tribe Of Dinah.

Teacher & Mr. T.