Jet Star Reggae Max : Alton Ellis O.D.
Alton Ellis
Jet Star
October 17, 1997

Track list
  1. Breaking up
  2. You make me so very happy
  3. A fool
  4. Willow tree
  5. Remember that Sunday (with Sylvia Tella)
  6. Too late to turn back now
  7. Rocksteady
  8. Let him try
  9. Blackmans pride
  10. Love on top
  11. Baby I love you
  12. Girl I've got a date
  13. Live and learn
  14. I don't know why
  15. I'm still in love
  16. Mr. Skabena
  17. Tumbling tears
  18. My time
  19. I'll be waiting (live recording)
  20. Muriel (performed by Alton & Eddie)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
When it comes to Alton Ellis no further introduction is needed, 'cause he's truly one of the living legends in Jamaican music who has been making great tunes for nearly four decades, from the heydays of ska, rocksteady and reggae up till now. It was a long overdue recognition of respect when mr. Ellis received the Order of Distinction for outstanding and important services to Jamaica from the Governor General. There's no argueing that he fully deserves it, regarding the quality of the music he delivered throughout his long musical career. This compilation mainly collects work from recent days - new originals and re-cuts of some of his classics (recorded in the U.K.) - with the addition of some older recordings, among them prime tunes recorded for Duke Reid's Treasure Isle. Lovely stuff.