Album review
Reggae Max Part 2
Jet Star
March 21 - 2005

Tracking list

  1. It's Not Easy
  2. Empress Love
  3. Step Right In
  4. God You See And Know
  5. Visions
  6. Call On Yahweh
  7. Save Us Now
  8. God Is Greater Than Man
  9. Be Of Good Courage
  10. Have Mercy
  11. There's Got To Be A Change
  12. Lesson of Life
  13. Come Away
  14. Same Song
  15. Jah Will Always See Me Through
  16. Can't Blame The Youths
  17. Serve Jah
  18. Ulterior Motive
  19. When Men On Earth
  20. Medley
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Born in 1974 in Davey Town, Jamaica, Jepther McClymont aka Luciano stands like a figurehead at the prow of international reggae music. Not only is most of his music memorable, he also has the unerring ability to rise above whatever machinations, politics or fashion changes reggae is going through. Thus it's only right that Luciano - just like Beenie Man before him - has been singled out for a second volume in Jet Star's handy budget-priced "Reggae Max" series. Just like Luciano's first "Reggae Max" set, which was released in 1997, this is an excellent collection of tunes featuring former singles such as "Empress Love", "Step Right In", "Visions", "Call On Yahweh", "Be Of Good Courage", "Lessons Of Life", "Come Away", "When Man On Earth" and the minor classic "Ulterior Motive".
The moving "Empress Love" across Mafia & Fluxy's remake of the "I'm Still Waiting" riddim and the heartfelt "Call On Yahweh" are both taken from the 2001 recording sessions with Jet Star's own producer Danny Ray that took place in the cellars of the Jet Star complex in London. Other tracks of UK provenance featured here include the album opener "It's Not Easy" and the truly wicked "Visions", both recorded with Carl & Dillie McLeod at their Stingray studios. Here you'll also find two tracks from Luciano's fruitful period with producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell. Both "When Man On Earth" and "Ulterior Motive" - across a phenomenal remake of John Holt's "Stealing" riddim - are notable efforts boasting contributions from Sly Dunbar and Dean Fraser. Other treats include "Come Away" across Lion Paw's "Zion Gate" riddim, the wonderful "God You See And Know, the Donville Davis produced "God Is Greater Than Man over a new version of Aswad's "Warrior Charge" riddim, the Fat Eyes production "Lessons Of Life", and the excellent "Jah Will Always See Me Through".

Teacher & Mr. T.