Album review
Jet Star Reggae Max : Sugar Minott
Sugar Minott
Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. African girl
  2. Show me that you love me
  3. Herbman hustling
  4. Loving Jah
  5. Good thing going
  6. Hard time pressure
  7. Get it all over
  8. Run things
  9. Sing a happy song
  10. Sandy
  11. This is lovers rock
  12. Penny for my song
  13. Babylon (aka Rough ol' life)
  14. Rub a dub
  15. Vanity
  16. Thanks and praise
  17. The girl is in love
  18. Let's get back
  19. Just can't keep it a secret
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

A strong set that contains twenty excellent tracks from the legendary Sugar Minott, but there's probably nothing here that long time fans of the original "king of the dancehall" won't already know, love and own. However, for those who aren't familiar with Sugar's (especially classical) recordings, this album is a great introduction to one of the sweetest singers in the business. Whether it is lovers, roots or dancehall style (all are included on this disc), Sugar Minott has the unique talent and skills to handle all genres on a high level. Quality music from a quality artist !

More Sugar Minott reviews :
Collector's Collection Vol. 1
RAS Portraits...Sugar Minott

Teacher & Mr. T.