Ras Muhamad
Oneness Records
Digital Release
August 9, 2014

Track list
  1. Salam
  2. Good Over Evil
  3. Re-Education feat. Kabaka Pyramid
  4. Interlude by Jah T
  5. Satu Rasa feat. Conrad Good Vibration
  6. Nuh Badmind Friend
  7. Farmerman feat. Naptali
  8. Lion Roar
  9. Leluhur feat. Kunokini
  10. Learn To Grow feat. Sara Lugo
  11. Conquest
  12. Barriers & Borders feat. Uwe Kaa
  13. So Tired
  14. All Over The World feat. Mighty Che
  15. Blow Them Away
  16. Through The Smoke
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 20-
Very Good -Votes: 25-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 49
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
After the recently released Suga Roy & Conrad Crystal album "The Kings Book" and before that the mighty "African Children Riddim", the "Rise Up Riddim" and the compilation set "One Love, One Heart, Oneness", German record label Oneness Records continues to deliver the goods in 2014. For their latest release the label's producer (and Dub Inc's bass player) Moritz "DaBaron" v. Korff collaborated with Ras Muhamad from Indonesia, which led to the creation of the versatile artist's fifth studio album entitled "Salam".

Indonesia born and raised Muhamad Egar aka Ras Muhamad is a prolific recording and performing artist, bi-lingual lyricist, published book author, radio host & producer, who was educated in New York City for over a decade-long. Musical influences from this self-proclaimed Reggae Ambassador of Indonesia other than Reggae, Ska, Dancehall and Rocksteady range from Hip-Hop, Indonesian traditional and Pop music, Jazz, Metal and World Music. In 2005 he debuted with the "Declaration Of Truths" album, which in 2007 was followed by "Reggae Ambassador", on which he heavily experimented with dancehall riddims. His 2009 released album "New Chapter" was inspired by the Sizzla albums "Praise Ye Jah" and “Black Woman & Child", and the digital Roots Reggae productions of Bobby "Digital" Dixon. In 2012 he released his fourth studio album, "Berjaya", on which he delivered most of the lyrics in Bahasa Indonesia.

Anyone familiar with releases from Oneness Records will certainly recognize some of the previously released songs and riddims such as "Nuh Badmind Friend" across the "Raspect", "Lion Roar" over the "African Children", "Blow Them Away" across the "Rub A Dub Man" and the combination tune with Naptali on the "Reggaeville" called "Farmerman". "Salam", which is sung in English and Indonesian language, is a joyful sounding nice album opener. Next comes the solid "Good Over Evil" (inspired by Emperor Haile Selassie’s "war" speech to the United Nations), which is underpinned by a familiar sounding riddim. It's followed by the first collaboration of the album, "Re-education" featuring Kabaka Pyramid. The critically acclaimed lyricist and Ras Muhamad convey of Asia having many traces and a "hidden cultural link" with Africa from spiritual thought, architecture and physical features. A big tune, truly worth hearing!! And there are even more collaborations that make a serious impression. These include "Farmerman" with Naptali, a well-known tune that still sounds great as it did when we first heard it, and the beautiful "Learn To Grow" with Sara Lugo. When it comes to solo efforts you won't be left disappointed when you listen to songs like "Nuh Badmind Friend", the current single "Lion Roar", "Conquest" and "Through The Smoke".

"Salam", Asia's first international Reggae album that is done in a pure Roots Reggae format, is a noteworthy collection of tunes not to be missed.