Album review
Jet Star Reggae Max : Sizzla
Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. No other like Jah
  2. Holding firm
  3. Freedom cry
  4. Do some good
  5. Be strong
  6. Babylon a listen
  7. Babylon cowboy
  8. Brutality for love
  9. Clean up your heart
  10. I'm not sure
  11. Who is laughing featuring Ninjaman
  12. It cost nothing
  13. Explain to the almighty
  14. Bless the youth
  15. True God
  16. Trust & love
  17. Pressure
  18. Show us the way
  19. Love is always there
  20. Love amongst my brethren
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

When U.K. based Jet Star Records launched their first "Reggae Max" albums it was as plain as the nose on your face that this would become an extremely popular and successful series. And indeed, many reggae fans took advantage of the fact that most of the "Jet Star Reggae Max" albums are the best introduction available to the work of the artists compiled. Miguel Collins aka Sizzla Kalonji is one of those rare talents that is simply compelling and this excellent set of songs unmistakably confirms it. With this nineteenth issue in the series Jet Star Records have delivered a killer Sizzla album, not only for those who have a growing interest in the work of reggae's hottest roots sensation but also for many of his devoted fans, who will be delighted that this set mainly focusses on many of Sizzla's hotly sought after 7" releases for a variety of ace producers like Bobby "Digital", Richard Bell, "Fatis" Burrell, Soljie and Barry O'Hare.
Wicked, essential and unreservedly recommended !!!

More Sizzla reviews :
Burning Up
Praise Ye Jah
Black Woman & Child
Good Ways

Teacher & Mr. T.