Album review
Reggae Max
Glen Washington
Jet Star
27 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Still Going Strong
  2. Strangers In The Night
  3. Forever Lover
  4. Down Low
  5. Sincerly
  6. Our Hearts
  7. Love You With All My Heart
  8. Jah Glory
  9. Reserve The Night
  10. If Only You
  11. Feelings For You
  12. Open Your Eyes
  13. My Decision
  14. Kindness For Weakness
  15. One Bright Morning
  16. Can't You See
  17. Give Jah Praise
  18. Breaking Up
  19. Let Me Be The One
  20. What A Man Sow
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Glen Washington is one of those countless reggae artists who enjoyed a brief moment of success and then vanished into obscurity. He topped the charts with the single "Rockers Nu Crackers" for producer Joe Gibbs in the late 70s. He resurfaced some years back with the excellent 'Brother To Brother' album for Coxsone Dodd, which actually made that reggae devotees hailed Glen Washington as the new Beres Hammond due of his similar vocal style. With his distinctive and soulful voice he easily voiced over some classic Studio One riddims. Since then his warm, easy tones have graced dancehalls and homes alike with hit after hit over the past years, singing in a rich mixture of love and reality songs. A stream of quality albums were released and he's still putting out topnotch tunes for a variety of producers.
Jet Star's latest installment in the 'Reggae Max' series is dedicated to this sympathetic artist. The selection of tunes gathered here is more than perfect. It includes numerous hit singles and tracks drawn from his albums. For obvious reasons there are no tracks included which he recorded for Studio One, and the same goes for songs of his 'Selection Train' album. Since his output is more than prolific it's not hard to compile a compilation album. Most of his songs are remakes of classic reggae (Studio One, Treasure Isle, Channel One) riddims and the way he does it is excellent. To be true, it's hard to point out highlights, as the album consists of only standout tracks. Producers on board are : Jah Life, Lloyd 'Joe Frasier' Campbell, Ruff Stuff, Barry U, Stingray, General Lee, J.B. Senior and Bobby Criss.
So far this is the ultimate Glen Washington compilation! Great album!

Teacher & Mr. T.