Young Tree Records/On The Corner/Nocturne-Munich
August 20, 2008

Track list
  1. Take the Night
  2. Ya Better Rally
  3. The Bounty
  4. Warrior Sound
  5. Battling Within
  6. Red Rose
  7. Coolin' I
  8. Brown Stew Fish
  9. Rock In Place
  10. Horse Dance
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Groundation's side-project Rockamovya features three members of Groundation (Harrison Stafford, Marcus Urani and Ryan Newman), modern Jazz/Fusion/Jam's most ubiquitous guitarist Will Bernard and the legendary reggae drummer Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace. It was actually Groundation's February 2006 three-week tour of the North American West Coast that brought together the five musicians to commemorate the birth of the King Of Reggae exclusively featuring the music of Bob Marley & The Wailers. After the tour they teamed up again to record some live jams and group improvisations at Prairie Sun Studios in Sonoma County CA.

When core members of the internationally acclaimed Reggae-Fusion group Groundation play together with a long time Jazz-heavyweight like Grammy nominated Will Bernard and the incomparable reggae veteran Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace, it's obvious expectations for their album run high. To a certain level this collection lives up to expectations... the musicianship is truly first-class, the musical arrangements are of high quality, and Harrison Stafford's charismatic vocal delivery (present on seven tracks) is a joy to hear. However anyone familiar with Groundation's jazz-tinged Roots Reggae won't be blown away, because the music on "Rockamovya" stays very close to efforts featured on the avarage Groundation album. So nothing real new musical directions offered here except for the instrumental piece "Take The Night", which incorporates a Rocksteady groove not heard before on Groundation releases.

All in all a decent album that will surely find its way to the avid Groundation fan.