Album review
Michael Prophet
Ariwa Sounds

Tracking list

  1. Rootsman
  2. Fisherman
  3. Satan
  4. Wolf
  5. One A Dem
  6. War In The City
  7. Lot's Wife
  8. Jah Is My Light
  9. Burn Down Town
  10. My Lord
  11. Lot's Dub
  12. Dub War
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Michael Prophet first made an impression on roots followers with some notable singles he recorded for producers Yabby You and Don Mais. When Island Records released his debut album "Serious Reasoning" he reached a broader audience and established his reputation outside of Jamaica. After that he delivered more successful outings ranging from the raw dancehall productions of Henry "Junjo" Lawes in the eighties to the "combination" efforts with former Coxsone Outernational deejay Ricky Tuffy over digital rhythms in the early nineties. Five years after his self-produced "Bull Talk" album this roots singer par excellence delivers another sample of his skill and talents on this Mad Professor produced album. Backed by U.K.'s cream of the crop musicians - Mafia & Fluxy, Black Steel, Steven Wright and the horns of Urban Breeze - Michael Prophet delivers his unique crying style vocals and conscious lyrics across some of the best rootical and full sounding "live" riddims laid down in the Ariwa Studios. Although the typical and instantly recognizable sound of Ariwa is stamped all over, the Mad Professor has given the singer enough space to do what he can do best... sing "roots 'n' culture" music. Within a solid album it's always difficult to point out the highlights, but anyway, best tracks are "One a dem", "Jah is my light", Burn down town" and the impressive "My lord".

Teacher & Mr. T.