Album review
Rootsman Credential
Everton Blender

Tracking list

  1. Ghetto People Song
  2. Bingi Man A Come
  3. Slick Me Slick
  4. Don't Be Used
  5. Danger In Your Eyes
  6. Can't Stop The Vibes
  7. Why Do We Have To War
  8. Higher High
  9. I Love Jah Jah
  10. Weeping Eyes
  11. We No Fear
  12. These Hands
  13. So Long
  14. False Words
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Although Everton Blender started singing in the early eighties and made his recording debut in the mid-eighties with a record for producer Danny Barclay it did last until 1993 before he achieved notable success, thanks to the late great Garnett Silk who introduced him to Star Trail's Richard Bell. "Bello" issued a series of well received singles before he produced both the singer's albums: "Lift Up Your Head" and "World Corruption" aka "A Piece Of The Blender: The Singles". Everton Blender's vocal style and conscious themes finally came to full expression. In 1997 he started producing himself and other reggae artists and founded his own "Blend Dem" label, named after his most successful record in Jamaica to date.
Now Heartbeat Records releases Everton Blender's third album, containing mainly self-produced tunes with the exception of his Tony Rebel produced international hit "Ghetto People Song" across the ""La La Bella" riddim. Furthermore the tracking list includes the Colin "Bulby" York & Linford "Fatta" Marshall produced "Why Do We Have To War", "We No Fear" which is produced by Heartbeat's Chris Wilson and the Top Ranking Production "False Words".
Rootsman Credential is a very enjoyable album with enough solid tunes for your spinning pleasure and to keep you involved "to the very last drop". Blender's own inimitable expressive vocal style - wrought in the modern dancehall - and his conscious and uplifting lyrics come to full expression in well crafted songs. Besides that Everton Blender's vocal deliveries are accompanied by great vocal harmonies and underpinned by appealing rootical riddims, mostly recorded & mixed at Black Scorpio and laid by Daddy Marshall. Tracks like "Don't Be Used", "Higher High" and "We No Fear" are the highlights among many. With his third album Everton Blender confirms that he's one of the best representatives of conscious reggae today !

Teacher & Mr. T.