Roots Meeting
No More Babylon
ALF Music - Dee 2 Records
February 17, 2008

No More Babylon Track list
  1. The Seals
  2. Inity Song
  3. Don't Be Surprised Feat. Bredda Marcus
  4. Nuff Respect
  5. Father's Luv Feat. Josie Mel
  6. Youthman
  7. Give A Helping Hand Feat. U Brown
  8. Emove Your Mask
  9. Ethiopian Millenium Feat. Earl 16
  10. Who Really Cares Feat. Ken Boothe
  11. Million Miles
  12. Gates Of Hell
  13. Silent Revolution
  14. Real Revolution Feat. Jah Marnyah
  15. Propaganda
  16. Bring Jah Love Feat. Kenny Knots
  17. Drowning Dreams Feat. Maryse Chastan
  18. Nyabinghi Song
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
With more than 500 live shows so far, No More Babylon has shared the stage with numerous international artists such as, Alpha Blondy, Yellowman, I Jahman Levi, Toots & The Maytals and U Roy, both all over France and Europe. 4 years after the release of "Vampayah Ina Showcase Style"(2003), No More Babylon comes in a reggae dub style with "Roots Meeting", their new album recorded between Salernes (France), Paris, Kingston, London and Amsterdam. Before the "Vampayah" album they released "Stand The Pressure" (1999). To be honest I never listened to both albums.

As they say themselves on their website: "Roots Meeting" is a crucial piece in the story of No More Babylon, it shows how much the band has moved forward and reached maturity. "Roots Meeting" is an old skool revival act in which the arrangements remind us of the English 1980's sound of bands like Steel Pulse or Aswad." The involvement of people like Stephan Blaess (production - Ghetto Blaster, Bad Brains) allowed the band to get this nice "old roots" sound. Because I'm a sucker for nice horn arrangements I have to mention that the horn section, called the Homegrown Band, featuring Guillaume "Stepper" Briard (sax for Sly & Robbie, Black Uhuru, Horace Andy) and Didier Bolay for the trombone (Tiken Jah Fakoly) are doing a mighty fine job on this release.

No More Babylon knows where to go and who to talk to and found themselves working with great reggae artists who were hands on. People like Earl 16, Ken Boothe, Brinsley Ford of Aswad fame, Kenny Knots, Jah Marnyah, Josie Mel, Brother Marcus and Maryse Chastan made a contribution to this album. The conscious / militant subjects are a nice listen while you are, in my case, riding on your bicycle to your dayjob. Those 'heavyweight' contributions also make clear where the band's 'problem' lies, although the riddims and production is on point. The singer of No More Babylon isn't capable to carry the whole album. I can't help but thinking: What if ..... had sung this?" The highlights on the album are also those songs where others make a contribution. That doesn't mean the man can't sing, but he's just too 'light' for this kind of heavyweight productions.

The rumor is that they are a great live experience. Maybe after I see them live I will swallow everything I said in this review, but based on only this album I say: Give it a listen because the guest appearances on this album are really good.