Album review
Roots Tonic
Roots Awakening
Stamina ! Productions

Tracking list

  1. Free the people (under the gun)
  2. Take the time
  3. Cover up
  4. Tonight
  5. It shall be dread
  6. Manners
  7. Don't go
  8. Dub the time
  9. Dub-I-ous circumstances
  10. Hungry for dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Herb Daly, John Nevin, David Yusem and Cedric Angila are the members of Santa Cruz based reggae band Root Awakening. Their debut album "Roots Tonic" consists of 7 finely crafted vocal cuts and three dubs. Most tracks are inna "roots and culture" style. The three dub tracks miss the excitement one expects from dub. Root Awakening recaptures the feel and sound of the 70's, with original riddims and sweet harmonies. Real instruments, and the added horns section make this album quite enjoyable.

Teacher & Mr. T.