Album review
Royal Priesthood
Tiko & Gitta
Lion Of Zion Entertainment
09 - 11 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. One Minute You're Here
  2. Two Place
  3. Hallelujah
  4. Sodom & Gomorrah
  5. Free
  6. Joy
  7. Hail! Hail! (featuring Christlike)
  8. Jah
  9. I Can't Please You
  10. Zion March
  11. Love You
  12. Anywhere We Go
  13. Mighty God
  14. Rudiments (featuring Shiselon)
  15. Time
  16. Greenman
  17. Royal Priesthood
  18. Forever
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

'Royal Priesthood' is the debut album from Tiko and Gitta, gospel reggae’s premier combination duo. Packed with modern-day musical parables and cleverly woven stories, Tiko and Gitta use the genres of reggae and dancehall to speak to this generation in relevant way without compromise in sound or spirit. The set is released on the Christian Reggae Dancehall label 'Lion of Zion'. The label specializes in releasing contemporary reggae and dancehall albums, bringing a unique brand of gospel reggae to nearly every state and some twenty countries around the world.
"Our inspiration comes from Christ, who was the most lyrical man to ever walk the face of this earth. We intend to follow in his footsteps."
Based out of the twin-island country of Trinidad and Tobago, Tiko and Gitta have been singing together for over three years, ministering at various churches and events throughout the Caribbean with their sweet contemporary blend of Reggae and Dancehall music. Born in the Caribbean Island of St.Vincent, (and now residing in Trinidad), Lyndon (Tiko) Sterling delivers the vibrant dancehall flavor to the duo. At age nine Tiko gave his life to the Lord, and by 16 he had began his musical journey while he was in school chanting over dancehall beats for his friends. Tiko has been aptly named 'Flow Master' by his friends because he has one of the quickest flows heard in dancehall today. It only takes a few measures in a song in order for him to explode and spread his intricate rhyme patterns all over the place. Using lighthearted comedy and clever storytelling, Tiko manipulates his energetic, wild, and original flow to bring across very serious spiritual subjects.
Although many of the tracks on “Royal Priesthood” rightfully dwell in the dancehall arena, it’s the culture of reggae that permeates the atmosphere when the microphone is grabbed by Gitta. With a solid vocal tone similar to the likes of Sizzla and Yami Bolo, Gitta, born Denton Peschier, is the soul of this team. While the second half of this pair may initially appear shy, get him behind a guitar and his spirit soars, hence his name Guitar Dan ('Gitta' for short). Raised in Trinidad, this humble and gentle spirit ignites when he has a mic in hand with his signature vocals that sail across the choruses, perfectly contrasting Tiko’s fire spitting raps.
These two artists compliment each other in a unique way, creating a force to be reckoned with. In contrast with Tiko’s fiery chatting, Gitta picks up his guitar and delivers some cooled down singing for the reggae purists, comforting those who idly twist away at their dreadlocks.
Standout tracks on the album include Sodom & Gomorrah, which comes across the 'Liquid' riddim, Free, a tune which will grab you instantly, Time, a tune that reminds us of a young Sizzla, and finally the closing tune, the heartfelt ballad Forever. With a diverse sound touching on roots reggae, dancehall, and a dash of hip hop, this versatile project is packed with 17 songs and sure to suit various tastes. This is a fun, yet thought provoking release by one of the most promising vocal teams in gospel reggae.

Teacher & Mr. T.