Roger Robin
Joe Fraser/VP Records
June 14, 2010

Justice Track list
  1. Justice
  2. Good For Me
  3. Fever
  4. Guava Jelly
  5. Right Decision
  6. So So Mouth Bad Man feat. Terry Linen
  7. Don't Make It Harder
  8. Life
  9. See U Go Lonely
  10. Drifting Away
  11. People Get Ready
  12. My Every Desire
  13. You're Beautiful
  14. Loving You Forever
  15. Rise Above
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 7
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Four years after UK crooner Roger Robin teamed up with Lloyd and Michelle Campbell of the Joe Fraser label for the album "Take It Slow", there's the follow up set "Justice" for the US based production duo, who have proven to be specialists when it comes to releasing quality steady vocals.

Roger Robin (real name Roger Williams) was born in Bristol, England in 1967 and grew up in South East London. His musical career began at the early age of 11 when he started working on the well known London based Saxon Sound System alongside Papa Levi, Maxi Priest and Smiley Culture to name a few. During that time, Roger Robin developed skills in piano playing, song writing and his vocal techniques. As his recording career grew, he found himself meeting and working with some of the best artist, producers, engineers and musicians in the industry including Sly & Robbie, Clive Hunt, Robbie Lyn, 'Fatta' Marshall & 'Bulby' York, Mikey Mao Chung, David Rowe, and Dean Fraser to name a few. Since his emergence in the early '90s, Roger Robin has continuously shown that he's a talented singer with a distinctive harmonic and melodic voice.

This brand new album kicks off with the title track "Justice" across a relick of a massive Treasure Isle riddim called "You Don't Need Me", which was originally done by The Melodians. Although Roger Robin is probably best known for his lovers material, he also touches themes that deal with social issues as is evidenced by this great message tune. It's followed by "Good For Me", a perfect example of delivering UK Lovers Rock with quality. "Fever" is another worthy lovers piece, but this one comes with a different vibe. Vocally it is done in such a way that it could have been a Maxi Priest song. All in all these three tracks are a good indication of what the listener can expect to hear when playing the rest of the tracks featured on "Justice". Of course the bulk of the material deals with matters of the heart and comes with tunes like "Don't Make It Harder", "See You Go Lonely", "Loving You Forever", and a nicely done version of James Blunt's pop hit "You're Beautiful", but there are also conscious tunes worth hearing including "Right Decision" across Tarrus Riley's "She's Royal" riddim, the combination with Terry Linen "So So Mouth Bad Man", "Drifting Away" and "Rise Above", which just like the album opener rides a relicked rock steady riddim.

Anyone looking for melodic and expressive vocals, good song writing and a very delightful type of music with good 'old skool' values, should purchase this new Roger Robin album.