Album review
Carlton Livingstone
Tabou1/Walboomers Music
08 - 10 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Rumours
  2. More We Are Together
  3. Blood A Go Run
  4. Come Over Here
  5. Rasta Get The Blame
  6. Party Tonight
  7. Reality
  8. Ambition
  9. Are You Afraid
  10. Hold Me
  11. Leave It Behind
  12. Trodding Through
  13. Don't You Remember
  14. Feel Like Dancing
  15. Baby Girl
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Carlton Livingstone was born in the parish of St. Mary, Jamaica. Carlton started singing around 1978, his first recording being 'The Tale Of Two Cities' for the Channel One imprint. One year later he recorded his debut album 'Soweto' for Leon Symoie's Trillseekers label. The next set of recording was done for the legendary Studio One label, that results in underground hits like "Why", "Predictions", "Here I Stand" and a string of other recordings. 1979 saw him recordeding for Sly & Robbie's Taxi label, with 'Tricks' and Trodding being the most succesful. 'Hot Hot Summer' was recorded for the Buisy label, but 1980 he enjoyed his biggest success with hits like Rumours, 'Marie', recorded for Beswick Philips & Clive Jarret's Dynamite Records. With these hits Carlton was on his way as being recognized as one of Jamaica's Roots Dance Hall singer.
The French label Tabou1 now comes up with a fine selection of tunes (all backed by The Taxi Gang) he recorded for the aforementioned Dynamite Records label. On the album you'll find his biggest hit Rumours, which is a reworking of Derrick Harriot's 'Solomon riddim. Across the Heptones' 'Love Won't Come Easy' riddim he brings you the excellent lovers tune More We Are Together, followed by the roots tune Blood A Go Run, which licks the 'Unmetered Taxi' riddim. Dennis Brown's 'No More Will I Roam' forms the solid basis for the outstanding tune Party Tonight. The ganja anthem Trodding Through is also present here, just like his rendition of Bob Andy's 'My Time', here entitled as Don't You Remember. The closing tune Baby Girl features Sly & Robbie,who lay down an excellent hardcore backing.
"Rumours" certainly is an above par selection of vintage Carlton Livingstone material.

Teacher & Mr. T.