9 Above Records
May 21, 2012

Manifestation - Rusty Zinn Track list
  1. Give Something You've Got
  2. For Creation
  3. A Many Splendored Thing
  4. Mankind
  5. My God
  6. Manifestation
  7. Breakaway (From This Love)
  8. How Could I Let You Get Away
  9. In Zion (There Is No Night)
  10. Heaven Is A Place Called Zion
  11. Put Your Faith In Me
  12. My God Dub
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 12-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 16
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Rusty Zinn... Rusty who? When the cd arrived on our desks we put it in our archive for later, not knowing that this production would make a deep impression because of it's authenticity and craftsmanship. For the last 23 years Rusty has travelled the world over performing Blues and Soul music as Rusty Zinn. During that time he has performed and recorded with many legends in those genres and received rave reviews, accolades, and award nominations. All who saw and heard him marveled at his mastery of the idioms, his astonishing guitar playing, his soulful singing – a musician's musician. In 2007 after a brief self imposed hiatus from live performances, he released 'Reggaeblue' with 11 original songs and a cover of the timeless classic 'Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You' in a reggae style, accompanied by key members of the legendary roots reggae backing unit, Soul Syndicate whom he had befriended. The release garnered him a 2007 Joe Higgs Music Award nomination as Best International Reggae Artist.

Rusty performed at the 2009 Sierra Nevada World Music Festival where he was very well received and then was nominated again for two more Joe Higgs Music Awards; he was nominated in the Best International Reggae Artist category for the second year in a row and was also nominated in the Best Male Singer category alongside such notables as Beres Hammond. Eventually Rusty decided to travel to Kingston, Jamaica and record a project in the birthplace of Reggae music. In the spring of 2009 he finally realized that dream and spent two weeks in Kingston soaking up the vibes and working on a new CD. The project was organized by Rusty with the help of his friend and mentor, Mikey Chung (Now Generation, Peter Tosh, Black Uhuru, Sly & Robbie) who played guitar on six tracks on 'Manifestation'. Rusty and Mikey were joined on the six song session in Kingston’s Mixing Lab studio by none other than the great Sly Dunbar on drums, Boris Gardiner on bass, Robbie Lyn on keyboards and the legendary Scully Simms on kette drum and percussion. The other songs were recorded at Nine Below Studios in San Francisco with the help of exquisite US based musicians.

Rusty's vocal delivery is just awesome, it seems as if he's been singing across reggae riddims for years. He's a soulful singer and a talented songsmith. All titles are written by Rusty, except for the soul classic How Could I Let You Get Away. The album opens with a soul fueled reality tune called Give Something You've Got, with the horns riffs reaching back to the superior Stax hits. For Creation reminds us of some Gussie P productions, a praising tune with a stirring trombone solo. The heartfelt lovers tune A Many Splendored Thing has its roots in the 50's Doo Wop tunes, and it comes complete with syndrums! The tempo goes up in Mankind a serious reality tune: "why do they call us mankind when man is not kind at all." The issue of the colour of God is the theme of My God and the wicked dub version My God Dub closes the album in right style and fashion. The only thing we don't like is the heavy guitar solo.

The title track was inspired by Rusty's belief in manifesting one's vision which ultimately led him to Jamaica. Rusty's own personal Rocksteady 'classic' Breakaway (From This Love) is strongly influenced by the Treasure Isle sound, and also shows the influence of Rusty's number one vocal inspiration, the great Alton Ellis, whose memory the entire disc is dedicated to. Put Your Faith In me is another retro styled soul/lovers tune, linking back to the Golden Age of reggae. Check out the wonderful Spanish guitar intro of In Zion (There Is No Night), one of the many outstanding tracks here. To be honest, it's hard to find a weak tune on the album.

With 'Manifestation' Rusty has delivered a mature reggae album. Do check it out, you won't be disappointed!