Save Us Oh Jah
Cocoa Tea
VP Records
May 31, 2006

Track list
  1. Stay Far
  2. Save Us Oh Jah
  3. Let The Music Play
  4. Indian Woman
  5. How You So Hypa
  6. Got You Now
  7. Wave You Hand
  8. Can't Tek The Fire Bun
  9. Babylon Feel It
  10. It Was A Charm
  11. Don't Give Your Love Away
  12. Biological Clock
  13. Stop Him
  14. Sex Drugs And Crime
  15. Spin The Song Ya
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Cocoa Tea started his career while still a child in Kingston in 1974, singing on a couple of obscure records for producer Willie Francis under his real name Calvin Scott. He spent the next few years working as a racehorse jockey, then as a fisherman; during the latter occupation, he began to rediscover his musical ambitions, performing with the traveling sound systems that passed through local dancehalls. In 1983, he moved to Kingston and adopted the performing name Cocoa Tea, after the Jamaican term for hot chocolate (later alternate spellings would include Coco Tea and Coco T). As Cocoa Tea he definitely emerged in the eighties when he teamed up with the late Henry "Junjo" Lawes. Unlike most dancehall singers of those day he utilized a more subtler, melodic approach. His cool-toned, laid-back vocals were perfect for sweet, smooth lovers rock, and gave him a distinct identity amid his more aggressive peers. In 1985 he delivered his excellent debut album "Can't Stop Cocoa Tea", which was followed by such fine albums as "The Marshall", "Come Again", "Rikers Island" and "Kingston Hot". The last years he's been working with Phillip "Fatis" Burrell, releasing excellent roots and culture albums. At the end of the nineties Cocoa Tea opened his own recording studio in Clarendon, Jamaica, and founded his Roaring Lion" imprint.

Cocoa Tea returns with a new album produced for Xterminator Productions Crew by Cocoa himself and ace producer Phillip 'Fatis' Burrel. The album is mixture of one drop riddims and praise filled lyrics. Cocoa Tea always has stood in the forefront of roots and reality music and here he continues to do so as delivers strong social commentary and Rasta message in his unique 'foundation' style of reggae that made him a legend. On the other hand the album includes some nice lovers tunes. Noteworthy efforts are Biological Clock, It Was A Charm and Got You Now, while Indian Woman and How You So Hypa fail to make a decent impression. Top tune of the album is the title track which was released as a 45 single some months ago. It profoundly expresses his concerns about the world of today and his cry for help. It's hard to get the song out of your head... killah tune! The album opener Stay Far is a well arranged tune telling the 'binghi man' to stay away from crime and violence. The song Wave You Hand tackles the same themes. Further noteworthy tunes are Babylon Feel It and Can't Tek The Fire Bun

Although the album fails consistency, it includes too much good tunes to be ignored.