Repatriation Dub
October 8, 2014

Track list
  1. Jah Children
  2. Heal The Nation Dub
  3. Zion Dub
  4. Full House Dub
  5. Warning Dub
  6. Sailing Dub
  7. Meet The People Dub
  8. In The Dance Dub
  9. Sugar Cane Man Dub
  10. Back To Wall Dub
  11. Stick Herb Dub
  12. 101 Grandby St, Liverpool 8
  13. Zachariah Dub
  14. The Hermit
  15. 58 Piction Rd, Liverpool
  16. Gloria 'Mamma Do It' Mahadio, Kingston 11, Jamaica
  17. Zinc Fence Dub
  18. Count Raja The Joker
  19. Welsh Man Dub
  20. Fenbrook Avenue, Marverley, Jamaica.
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
"Repatriation Dub" features the (re-)mixing skills of Hopeton Brown aka Scientist, one of the most important Jamaican masters of dub. Dub, in the now familiar sense of radically remixed versioons, arrived in 1972, and was largely the contribution of one man: Osbourne Ruddock aka King Tubby. This superb engineer also became known for taking new young hopefuls under his wing to teach them his tricks and guide them on their way through the dub world. From his studio were born the leading engineers of Jamaica such as Philip Smart and Lloyd "Prince Jammy" James. However the closest that any other engineer has come in comparison with Tubby’s deity is one of his own apprentices, Hopeton "Scientist" Brown.

Scientist came to prominence in the early 1980s when he released an avalanche of recordings. In particular, he was the favourite engineer of Henry "Junjo" Lawes, for whom he mixed several albums featuring the Roots Radics, many based on tracks by Barrington Levy. At the time he also did a lot of work for Linval Thompson and Jah Thomas. Furthermore he worked with producer Roy Cousins, which led to the release of several dub albums such as "People's Choice Dub", "International Heroes Dub", "Scientist In The Kingdom Of Dub" and "High Priest Of Dub". Another one was "Repatriation Dub", which reappeared in cd format with the addition of 8 bonus tracks. Occasionally there's a well known riddim leaping off the speakers, while vocals from Knowledge, The Royals, Earl Sixteen, Prince Far I, The Gaylads, Charlie Chaplin, Junior Reid, Keith "Natty Myrie" and The Kingstonians come floating in and out the mix. Scientist has done a solid job, but all in all he could have pulled out more stops to make some of the tracks included here more exciting.

Not a sensational dub album, but a pleasant set of classic dub music.