Break Free
Sasha Dias
LTK20 Records
CD / Digital Release
July 29, 2014

Track list
  1. That's It (Leave Me Alone)
  2. I Can't Make You Love Me
  3. Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough feat. Terry Linen
  4. Questions
  5. Walk Away
  6. Boom
  7. Break Free
  8. Wings Of Love
  9. Perilous Time
  10. Power Of Love
  11. Name Brand
  12. Burning With Desire
  13. Four Leaf Clover
  14. It's Over
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Young budding female singer Sasha Dias is the newest star in the reggae firmament. The South Florida-born vocalist has strong roots in Jamaica's music culture. Her grandfather and music mentor is Jamaican veteran singer Winston Dias of "Cericy Tea" fame, known for his prolific performances of reggae and R&B with the US vocal group The Drifters.

Sasha Dias began singing at a very young age and, by age 13, she joined her cousin and a friend to create a girl group called 3 Charmz. The group charmed Ft. Lauderdale audiences throughout her high school years. Her music influence covers many genres ranging from reggae and dancehall artists like Buju Banton and Sanchez to R&B divas like Beyonce, Jennifer Hudson and Whitney Houston to pop stars like Taylor Swift and Celine Dion. It's the latter's hit song "Power Of Love" (originally done by Jennifer Rush) she has been performing since she was 16, and now it's one of the tracks featured on her debut album "Break Free", which was produced by Lindel Thompson for LTK 20 Records. Involved in creating this album were songwriter Fitz "Faevrit" Livermore, bassist Danny "Axeman" Thompson, guitarists Junior Jazz and Dwayne "Shotta" Hoilett (also on keyboards & drums), Fabian "Dadz" Smith (keyboards & bass), Paul Gauntlet (drums, keyboards, guitar), Fiona (harmony vocals), while technical assistance was given by engineers Jason Sterling, Bobby "Digital" Dixon and Mikey Steer.

Sasha Dias fully showcases her exceptional melodic vocal talents on this 14-track debut album, which features original songs and a few covers including Bonnie Raitt's "I Can't Make You Love Me", Jennifer Rush's "Power Of Love" and "Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough" by Patty Smyth & Don Henley. The album opens in real fine lovers style with the beautiful lead single "That's It (Leave Me Alone)". The lovers vibe is maintained throughout with the aforementioned covers, "I Can't Make You Love Me" and "Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough", a duet with Jamaican singer Terry Linen. Besides material that deals with affairs of the heart, there are also a few conscious tunes including "Questions" and "Perilous Times". These songs are nice to hear, but in the end they don't leave a serious impression. Tracks such as the dancehall fueled "Name Brand" as well as "Boom" and "Four Leaf Clover", both infused with Reggaeton Pop, bring some variation to this set.

All in all this is a satisfying collection of tunes from a much promising female vocalist.