Album review
Send A Message
Pluto Shervington
Dub Doctor Music

Tracking list

  1. Send A Message
  2. Over Joyed
  3. Land Of The Free
  4. I Shall Be Released
  5. I Like It Like Dat
  6. Rivers To Cross
  7. Ooh Baby
  8. Down A Jammie
  9. Father's Face
  10. Teach I To Pray
  11. Got Me Dancing
  12. Land Of The Dub
  13. Ooh Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

Pluto, born Leighton Shervington, started singing with Tommorrow's Children at the end of the 60s. He's a gifted musician and producer, who enjoyed notable success with Paul Davidson's 'Midnight Rider' in 1975. His biggest commercial break came in 1976 with 'Dat', soon followed by 'Ram Goat Liver', which also did well in the UK. In 1982 he was back in the charts with 'Your Honour'. Nowadays he lives in Miami, where he still writes, records and produces.
At the end of 1998 he has released his latest album entitled Send A Message, 'a work livicated to Geoffrey Chung and the spirit of excellence he brought to all his musical endeavors..'.
The album strikes a balance between new songs and updates of classic soul and reggae tunes. Listen to his uplifting rendition of I Shall Be Released -a song that has been versioned countless times-, Jimmy Cliff's 'Many Rivers (To Cross)', and Stevie Wonder's Over Joyed. The tittle track is one of the best tracks found on the set, delivered with a burning edge only a superb singer can bestow on a song he believes in. Equally enjoyable is Land Of The Free. Pluto reworks some of his selfpenned classics tunes in the medley I Like It Like Dat. Ooh Baby is a pleasant sounding lovers tune, whilst Father's Face is a lyrically strong ballad. Teach I To Pray is a tune that really grabs you, helped by the horn lick from Dean Fraser.
The riddims are cut with such luminaries as Cat Coore, Mikey Chung, Chico Chin, Dean Fraser, David Madden, Denzel Douglas, Bulgie, Paul Fakhourie and Paul Douglas. Louis Chase produced the set for the Dub Doctor label. Send A Message is a finely crafted and well presented mix of covers and new songs that share an accessibility and positive vibration. Recommended.

Teacher & Mr. T.