Album review
Serious Matter
U Roy
Tabou1 - Walboomers Music
05 - 02 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. U Roy - Intro
  2. U Roy & Dennis Brown - Half Me Get
  3. U Roy & Third World and PierPoljak - Attention
  4. U Roy & Horace Andy - Money
  5. U Roy & Israel Vibration - A Capella
  6. U Roy & Israel Vibration - Same Vibe
  7. U Roy & Dennis Brown and Cheb Aissa - Half 3 The Hard Way
  8. U Roy & Ernest Wilson - Know Yourself
  9. U Roy & Jimmy London - Love Fe Me
  10. U Roy & Beres Hammond - Serious Matter
  11. U Roy & Johnny Dizzy Moore - Ska Version
  12. U Roy & Dennis Brown - When Jah Come
  13. U Roy - Interview
  14. U Roy & Horace Andy - Bass Power
  15. U Roy & Third World - Know Who I Am
  16. U Roy & Gregory Isaacs and Dennis Brown - Night Nurse
  17. U Roy & Jimmy London - Miss Till I Kiss
  18. U Roy & Jimmy London and Manu from Baobab - Love Fe Me 3 The Hard Way
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

"Wake the town and tell the people, cause this musical disc is coming your way, this is Daddy U Roy."
U Roy, aka Ewart Beckford, is undoubtedly THE Godfather of all modern deejays. He started his career at the tender age of 16 at Doctor Dickie's Sound System. His career really took off in 1969, while he was the resident deejay for King Tubby's Hi-Fi sound. There he more than often chatted over riddims produced by Duke Reid.
Amazed by his live performances King Tubby took him to the studio to cut a few singles for Duke Reid's Treasure Isle label in 1970. His first release was "Wake The Town.". It rocketed to the top of the charts. The follow up was the equally brilliant and succesful "Rule The Nation", followed by "Wear You To The Ball" a couple of weeks later. These three sat on the top of the charts for 12 weeks on Jamaica's 2 radio stations. During the following years he ruled supreme, taking Jamaica (and the rest of the world) by storm, lining up hit after hit. In the late 70's he released 4 wicked albums produced with Prince Tony on Virgin Records.
His Stur Gav Sound System, which features Top deejays like Ranking Joe, Charlie Chaplin, U Brown and Josey Wales, ranks among the most popular in Jamaica and frequently tours the US, Japan and the UK.
His latest album Serious Matter is an amazing collection of top notch tunes, performed by U Roy and an impressive array of vocalists. The albums contains four hard hitting tunes on which U Roy performs in combination with the late great Dennis Brown. Half Me Get is an updated version of Dennis Brown's classic 70's tune. Half 3 The Hard Way is a remixed version of the aforementioned tune, now featuring the African singer Cheb Aissa..a wicked tune ! Track 12 is a cut to Dennis Brown's 'Milk And Honey', retitled for this album as When Jah Come. Finally U Roy and Dennis Brown share vocals with Gregory Isaacs on Gregory's early 80's smash hit Night Nurse.
Third World lead vocalist Bunny Ruggs combines with French deejay PierPoljak and U Roy on Attention, a tune across the immortal 'Swing Easy' riddim. The same riddim is used on the combination track with Third World -Know Who I Am.
Reggae veteran Ernest Wilson's vocals combine very good with U Roy chatting on the reworking of Ernest's Channel One hit 'I Know Myself', here retitled Know Yourself. Furthermore U Roy performs along Horace 'Sleepy' Andy on two fine tracks : Money and Bass Power, the latter being a tune across the 'Skylarking' riddim. Israel Vibration shows up with an updated version of their all time classic 'The Same Song', with U Roy inserting his well known shouts and phrases.
U Roy is back from where he started three decades ago : at the top. Wicked and crucial set !
Please note : Track 18 includes a hidden track, the instrumental/dub version of track 11, Ska Version.

Teacher & Mr. T.