I Wish
Souljah Fyah
Love Empire Entertainment
August 14, 2011

I Wish - Souljah Fyah Track list
  1. I Wish
  2. Dirty Hands
  3. 8 Days Of Summer
  4. Watch It Go
  5. Tears Of A Fool
  6. Freedom Seeker
  7. Blessed Lightning
  8. Behind That Face
  9. Something Beautiful
  10. Jade's Lullaby
  11. Perfect People
  12. Dirty Hands (Remix by Dubmatix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Souljah Fyah is a reggae band based in Edmonton, Canada. The band is led by vocalist/bassist/keyboard player Janaya "Sista J" Ellis. The band released a self-titled album in 2004. Their second full-length album, "Truth Will Reveal", released in 2008, was nominated for a Juno Award for 'Reggae Album of the Year' and won both 'Outstanding Urban Recording' at the Western Canadian Music Awards and 'Best Reggae Album' at the 2009 Reggae Music Achievement Awards, while the album's producer, IBO, was nominated for a Reggae Music Achievement Award for his work on the recording.

Souljah Fyah was named 'Top Reggae Band' at the 2009 Canadian Reggae Music Awards. That year, Souljah Fyah released an EP of songs produced by Stew Kirkwood called "Tears of a Fool". Besides Ellis, Souljah Fyah's current lineup includes Dorant "Saint" Ricketts on drums and vocals, Paul "Tootall" Joosse on bass, guitar, vocals and keyboards, "Stormin" Norm Frizzell on keyboards, and Bongbiemi "The Original Tribesman" Nfor on percussion. In 20110 they unleashed their third album called "I Wish".

The style of the 12 track album is roots reggae and includes style elements from Rock, Dancehall and World Music. Sista J's vocal delivery is strong, clear, but on some tunes she displays her sweet and gentle side. I Wish is a strong tune, followed by Dirty Hands that starts as a compelling roots tune, but it's a pity that the abundant rock influences makes us skip it after a minute or two. The poppy dancehall tune 8 Days Of Summer sees drummer Dorant “Saint” Ricketts in fine style as he smoothly delivers jumpy deejay vocals! Watch It Go is too much rock&roll to please us.

Tears Of A Fool is the story of a man and woman and their unhealthy relationship. Good lyrics across a strong riddim! The ballad Freedom Seeker is a worthwhile effort. Next comes the uptempo roots song Blessed Lightning that deals with unity, togetherness and peace. Behind That Face is 'spoiled' by the misplaced hard rock guitar riffs. Jazz combined with African riddims is what Something Beautiful is all about, followed by the nyabinghi tune Jade's Lullaby, an enchanting sound landscape. Perfect People is a compelling conscious tune, the highlight of the album. Finally the album gets rounded off by the remix of Dirty Hands.

If you dig reggae with rock influences you'll probably love this album.