My Time
Stevie Face
Boot Camp
CD / Digital Release
October 28, 2014

Track list
  1. Introduction feat. Rich Davis
  2. Story Book Children
  3. Never Give Up On You
  4. Spread Your Wings
  5. United We Stand feat. Adele Harley
  6. Love Man A Deal Wid Iyah
  7. If A Nuh Jah
  8. Marijuana In The Morning
  9. Paper Soldier feat. Jack Radics
  10. You Are My Sunshine (Interlude)
  11. Groovy Kind Of Love
  12. I Dream Of The Day
  13. Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For
  14. Da Lovin Yah Nice
  15. Got You Where I Want You
  16. Behold
  17. Missing You So Much
  18. As Long As You Bless Me
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 6-
Very Good -Votes: 5-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 13
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
"My Time" is Stevie Face's second album for Computer Paul's Boot Camp label and the third full length set since his first recording "Teach The Children", which became an overnight hit and every Jamaican child's anthem. This brand new album from one of Jamaica's most versatile singers follows up the 2010 released "Tell It Like It Is", which included top ten hits such as "Tell It Like It Is', "I Wanna Wake Up With You", "Coming Home" and "Proverbs Six". The album was well received and deservedly brought the singer to the attention of an international audience.

Just like the previous album, this 18-track collection brings the listener a real nice mix of lovers and culture material, including original tunes, cover versions and two collaboration efforts. For the latter Stevie Face teamed up with fine artists such as the incomparable Jack Radics and UK songstress Adele Harley. Together with Adele Harley he nicely covers Brotherhood of Man's pop hit "United We Stand" from 1976, and although its idealistic lyrics are simple this song might melt the mature listener. However it's the message tune "Paper Soldier", done with Jack Radics, that leaves a serious impression. Coming across a relicked version of Jackie Mittoo & the Soul Vendors' "Hot Milk" riddim (best known from Barrington Levy's "Murderer") this is a real BIG tune!!!

As mentioned above, this set includes quite a few covers. First there's "Story Book Children", Judy Clay & Billy Vera's hit tune from 1967 which buttresses the loss and deliverance motif. This song has been covered by many other artists - including Gregory Isaacs' version on his "Mr. Isaacs" album - and now there's also a nice rendition by the sweet-voiced Stevie Face. Another much covered pop song is "Groovy Kind Of Love", originally recorded by Diane & Annita in 1965. Also quite a few reggae artists did a cover version including Prince Junior, Elki & Owen, Boris Gardiner, Johnny Osbourne & Jennifer Lara, Little Kirk, and Singing Melody. These artists are joined by Stevie Face, whose version can be ranked among the better ones. The choice for doing an adaptation of U2's "Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" isn't an obvious one. Never thought a reggae version of this song could sound that good. And then there's also Joyce Berry's "Behold (I Saw You Standing There Before Me)", which was covered by the Blues Busters in 1962 and now nicely done again for this set. The album closer, "As Long As You Bless Me", is another renditon of an original song. This time it's Terry Garmon's "Any Way", a truly spiritual and really uplifting tune, given a fine interpretation by Stevie Face.

The inclusion of cover songs, even if they make up about one third of an entire album, can work and in this case it mostly does. However, we rather prefer to listen to original songs and among those included here there are enough efforts worthwhile hearing. That Stevie Face is a good crooner can be heard when you listen to his romantic songs. In particular songs such as "Never Give Up On You", the beautiful "Spread Your Wings", "Got You Where I Want You" over relick of John Holt's "A Love I Can Feel" riddim and the matching Willie Lindo produced "Da Lovin Yah Nice", which comes across a do-over of the riddim that underpinned Carlton & His Shoes Studio One scorcher "You And Me aka Love Is A Treasure", show the one they call the 'living sweetness' at his very best. But it's not with love songs alone that Stevie Face manages to impress. Cultural efforts like "Love Man A Deal Wid Iyah", the stirring "If A Nuh Jah" on Irie Sounds Intl's "In Love" riddim, and the solid "Marijuana In The Morning" prove that he's also able to deliver these kinda tunes in a very convincing way.

It took Stevie Face and Computer Paul about four years to come up with a worthy successor to the "Tell It Like It Is" album and we can only conclude that the long wait has been worthwhile.