Album review
Ras Shiloh & Idrens Chants
Melchizedek Muzic

Tracking list

  1. Ras Shiloh & Ras Shaka - Say you love Jah
  2. Knotty B - Cocaine cow boys
  3. Ras Shiloh - Time
  4. Knotty B - Virtuous woman
  5. Ras Shaka - Ganja parrot
  6. Ras Shiloh - Rich & switch
  7. Ras Shiloh & Knotty B - Something for something
  8. Ras Shiloh & Ras Shaka - Underfeet
  9. Ras Shiloh - If this land
  10. Ras Shiloh - Ragga soldier
  11. Ras Shiloh - Jah calling
  12. Ras Shaka - Rapping roots & culture
  13. Ras Shiloh - Sad man sad woman
  14. Ras Shiloh & Shelene Thomas - Caught up in the circle
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

A great compilation that mainly focusses on the highly talented Ras Shiloh, a youngster who definately is more than a promise for the future according to his set of contemporary roots songs on this album. His voice and singing style are reminiscent of the late great Garnett Silk (and sometimes even a slice of Junior Reid can be recognized), but it's obvious that Ras Shiloh has more to offer than only cloning a sorely missed singer. Listening to his strongly worded message songs one has to come to only one conclusion: the vibe is positive and the energy is youthful and exuberant. Next to this it's only fair to say that one could easily overlook the fact that the two other artists included on this album - Ras Shaka and Knotty B. - deliver a solid performance as well.

Teacher & Mr. T.