Album review
Shining Bright
Rod Taylor
Jah Warrior

Tracking list

  1. Shining Bright
  2. Weeping And Wailing
  3. Thank You Mother
  4. Be With Jah
  5. The Mighty King
  6. Jah Bless
  7. Stop The War
  8. Jah Warriors
  9. Rasta
  10. Black History
  11. Mr. Policeman
  12. Psalms
  13. Drop The Dub
  14. Weeping And Wailing Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Perhaps no one typified the culturally conscious youthman singer of the second half of the seventies as much as Rod Taylor. After the release of his first single in 1975 this somewhat underrated fine singer recorded extensively for producers such as Bertram Brown of Freedom Sounds, Mikey Dread, Prince Far I, Linval Thompson and Prince Hammer, producing such great tunes like "Run Run", "Night In September", "Ethiopian Kings", "Behold Him" and "His Imperial Majesty" (all included on the "Ethiopian Kings 1975-80" set from Patate Records). His most notable albums include "If Jah Should Come Now" for Prince Hammer and "Where Is Your Love Mankind" for Henry "Junjo" Lawes. And now, some twelve years after the release of the "Where Is Your Love Mankind" album, Rod Taylor has delivered another notable album titled "Shining Bright". For the recordings of this brand new set Rod Taylor - now resident in France where he continues to perform live regularly with the Artikal Crew - has linked up with producer Steve Mosco from London based roots reggae production label "Jah Warrior". No wrong move as this combination proves a winner. "Shining Bright" features twelve solid vocal tracks and two wicked dub versions. Rod Taylor fully lives up to expectations as he truly demonstrates no decline in his vocal skills. The singer's strong vocal delivery over Jah Warrior's typical upfront modern roots riddims is well worth hearing, and also lyrically he shows that he's still able to make a solid impression. Every track of this set has its own merits and immediately captures the listener's attention. Thus it's almost impossible to point out the standouts, so we just stick to our personal favourites which include "Weeping And Wailing", "Be With Jah", "The Mighty King", "Jah Warriors", Mr. Policeman" and "Black History", the latter performed across a reworked version of Wayne Jarrett's "Youthman" aka Glenroy Richards' "Wicked Can't Run Away" riddim. Next to the vocals from Rod Taylor this album features a live 3 piece horn section with the renowned Crispy Horns, live flute from Richard Doswell, guitar and melodica from Hughie Izachaar, percussion from Jonah Dan and all other instruments from Steve Mosco.
"Shining Bright" is a great and powerful listening experience, one of the best album releases on the "Jah Warrior" label so far. So, make sure to check it!!!

Teacher & Mr. T.