Shining Time
Marcia Griffiths
VP Records
April 2, 2005

Track list
  1. My Heart Beat
  2. Live Life To The Fullest feat. Hopeton Lindo
  3. Bring Back The Love
  4. Back In The Days
  5. Jah Daughter feat. Annette Brissett
  6. Human Rights
  7. Shining Time
  8. My Love
  9. Focusing Time feat. Beres Hammond
  10. This Time Around
  11. Harmony feat. Shaggy
  12. My Life
  13. Lies
  14. Don't Stop
  15. Until You Come Back To Me
  16. A House Is Not A Home
  17. Bring Back The Love feat. Cutty Ranks
  18. Crazy Baldhead (Tribute To Bob Marley)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Marcia Griffiths began her career as a dancer but became one of the first ladies of reggae music. Partnering Bob Andy she scored international huge hits as Bob & Marcia. After the duo disbanded she became one of Bob Marley's backup singers the I-Threes. During her lengthy solo career she delivered many solid to excellent albums for different producers and proved herself to be the quintessential female voice in reggae. Her unique sound has graced many classic reggae hits in each of these periods and spawned many imitators. She's celebrating her 40th anniversary in music, with an album of newly recorded favorites and recent hits that highlight the 'Shining Time' of her life the present.
The singer selected producers Hopeton Lindo, Syl Gordon, Gregory Bailey and Lloyd Campbell to produce and record a mixture of classic pop songs and new originals. "Shining Time" is in part historical and autobiographical. The voices of Beres Hammond, Shaggy, Cutty Ranks, Hopeton Lindo and singer/songwriter Annette Brisett were enlisted to broaden the range of musical selections on the album. The set kicks off with Griffiths' New York and UK chart hit My Heart Beat, followed by a duet with singer/producer Hopeton Lindo entitled Live Life To The Fullest. On the album she reunites with deejay Cutty Ranks with whom she recorded some decent hits in the past (in 1991 they teamed on the number one hit 'Half Idiot'). He joins her on Bring Back The Love, a song also present as a solo cut performed by Marcia. The late nineties tune Focusing Time features Beres Hammond and is one of the set's brightest moments. There are also nice renditions of classic soul tunes such as the Stevie Wonder-penned Until You Come Back To Me (made popular by Aretha Franklin) and the Luther Vandross/Cheryl Lynn classic A House Is Not a Home, the latter tune featuring exquisite harmonies by Pam Hall.
A sophisticated album by the quintessential female voice in reggae! Crucial stuff!