Album review
Shock Dem
Denroy Morgan & The Black Eagles
VP Records-Walboomers Music
09- 10 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Shock Dem
  2. Sixty Minutes Man
  3. Brimstone And Fire
  4. Fire Gonna Burn
  5. Rastaman A Come
  6. Black Out
  7. Forward Home
  8. Legend
  9. Cheating
  10. Let Me Make Love
  11. Feeling Good Pt. 1
  12. Feeling Good Pt. 2
  13. United Immigrants
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Denroy Morgan was born in 1947, Spanish Town, Kingston, Jamaica, West Indies. He embarked on his musical career in March 1965 when he emigrated to the USA, although his initial musical experience was gleaned in Jamaica through his association with Toots Hibbert of the Maytals. Morgan is acknowledged as a pioneer of the Jamaican music industry having introduced roots rock reggae to New York City. Initially he formed a band known as Mad Creators who performed US chart hits on the live circuit. By the close of the 60s Morgan recorded his debut, Cheating, which led to the formation of the Black Eagles, who released "I Come From Jamaica". The group's varying line-up performed throughout the 80s, although in 1981 Morgan began concentrating on his children's musical career, resulting in the forming of Morgan Heritage and LMS.
The collection of songs presented here provides an insight into the musical roots of Morgan Heritage and LMS. The songs are from a young Denroy Morgan, who still has his roots firmly based in soul music, check out the cover tunes Sixty Minutes Man and the James Brown do-overs Feeling Good Pt.1 + Pt.2. The latter tunes are pure funk songs recorded in 1967, while the other tunes were recorded in the seventies. Noteworthy tracks are the tunes Brimstone And Fire, Black Out and Legend.

Teacher & Mr. T.