Shooting Star
June 22, 2009

Track list
  1. Jamaica Too Nice
  2. 45 Questions
  3. Better Than Dem feat. Beenie Man
  4. Calabria 2008
  5. Mr. X
  6. One Spliff A Day
  7. One Night feat. Lexxus
  8. Uuuh Wee feat. Mukupa
  9. One Love feat. Little Hero
  10. Real Love feat. Chappa Jan
  11. Silence Before The Storm
  12. Mysterious feat. Mukupa
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
On June 24th 2007, one of the brightest shining stars on the Danish music scene, Natasja Saad, also known as Lil T, Little T and Natasja, was only 32 when she died in a car accident outside of Spanish Town in Jamaica during a promotional trip. Her tragic death came just as her music was getting increased attention in Denmark and abroad, and during a time when her international career was flourishing thanks to her successful collaboration with Enur on "Calabria 2007", a hit in several countries that would eventually sell over half a million copies in North America.

Natasja, the daughter of a Danish photographer and a Sudanese father, left behind a series of finished songs in English (and Patois) and her native Danish. The latter were released on the album "I Danmark Er Jeg Født", which has sold double platinum in Denmark, thus cementing her position in her homeland as one of her generation's most talented vocalists and songwriters. Natasja's second studio album in English "Shooting Star", includes songs she recorded before her untimely death. This album was originally planned as an "international upgrade" of her 2005 issued debut album titled "Release". However, the final album contains primarily new tracks, mostly produced by Pharfar, but international Reggae producers such as Colin "Bulby" York, Hamilton & Forbes of Dangerzone and Neil Fraser aka Mad Professor have also contributed to the sound of "Shooting Star". Besides guest appearances of Beenie Man, Lexxus aka Mr. Lex, Little Hero, and Chappa Jan, the album also features Karen Mukupa, a childhood friend, who was also in the car that tragic night in June 2007.

Originally released in 2008 on the Scandinavian based record label Playground Music, "Shooting Star" now gets its international release on the Makafresh imprint. The 12 track album brings the listener one-drop reggae songs as well as tunes that are driven by dancehall beats. Even though Natasja's vocal style sometimes is reminiscent of Tanya Stephens, she definitely has a style of her own. Featured on the album are "45 Questions", the song that made her win the Jamaican talent competition "Big Break" in 2006 and "Calabria 2008", a next version of her catchy club song that invaded jam-packed dance floors all over the world and hit the prestigious number 1 slot on the US Billboard Hot Dance Airplay. Vocally and lyrically Natasja in particular shines in reggae tunes like the biting "Jamaica Too Nice" and "45 Questions" (both typical Ariwa productions), and furthermore the striking lovers song "Mr. X", the herb song "One Spliff A Day" and the combination tune "Mysterious". The dancehall fueled tracks aren't that exceptional, although "Better Than Dem", "Real Love" and "Silence Before The Storm" are worth of hearing.

"Shooting Star" isn't exactly an album that will blow you away, but all in all it's a nice collection of tunes showing that Natasja was a much promising up-and-coming artist.