Martin Campbell
Log On
October 15, 2005

Track list
  1. You'll Never Get Away
  2. Get Away Dub
  3. Roots Rock, 29 Maxfield
  4. Roots Rock Dub
  5. Wicked Rule (Original 1990 Version)
  6. Wicked Dub (1990)
  7. Wicked Dub Version 2 (1990)
  8. No Roof
  9. No Roof Dub
  10. Raw & Empty
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 3
The elusive Martin Campbell, the man with a fine lyrical talent whose compositions always champion the cause of the struggler, returns with this low key compilation of a selection of old tunes.

Probably the one tune that will really stand out for people and attract most interest is his excellent "Why Do The Wicked Rule" -- We get three cuts of this long deleted fifteen year old tune, so buy this re release before it deletes too. It is very satisfying, in the same style as the Fado influenced Cornell Campbell "Jah Me No Born Yah" tune.

Also noteworthy here is the low key, calming jazz dub of "Roots Rock Dub/29 Maxfield" .

"You'll Never Get Away" too, borrows a classic JA Channel One snare and percussion interplay (think the later late 70's/early 80's Charmers label cut to Dennis Brown's "Concentrate.") but the lyrics are not as strong and distinctive as Martin's usual style which decidedly lessens the impact of the tune.

This CD will sell well to those who will be eager to snap up a copy of the memorable and long deleted "Wicked Rule", as well as to those who consider Martin Campbell to be a worthy vocalist and song writer who deserves a higher profile on the UK reggae scene.

He has a fine, low key understated vocal style which indeed, sets him apart from many of his contemporaries.

His voice has a strong emotive element, which -- arguably though -- calls out for more innovative rhythms than these to chant over. Watch out for his "Take A Look" album too, which is over all, probably a stronger selection than this one.