Album review
Simply Being Me
VP Records-Walboomers Music
10 - 10 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Sometimes
  2. Pretty Girl
  3. Burning Up
  4. Back At One
  5. Simple Being Me
  6. Jah Calling
  7. Where I Wanna Be
  8. I Need To Know
  9. Hands Of Time
  10. Forever & Ever
  11. Nick Of Time
  12. Naturally
  13. Watching Over Me
  14. Margrette
  15. Simply Being Me (Acoustic Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Sweet-voiced Kevin Anthony Jackson, better known as Sanchez, cut his first sides in the second half of 1987. Already at the beginning of the following year he managed to become the number one singer of love songs in reggae music, underlined by the release of two fine albums : "Loneliness" and "Sweetest Girl". In a short period of time Sanchez became extremely popular amongst the - mainly female - reggae fans and broke big in the U.K. where every single release seemed to be a guarenteed chartbuster. The fans loved him, but there were also many others who underrated his skill and talents because of his singing so many cover songs, which actually resulted in the not so flattering title "King Of Cover". However, throughout his more than one decade spanning career Sanchez has unmistakably made clear that he is also capable of delivering fine self-penned songs, lovers songs as well as reality tunes such as the excellent "South Africa".
The album "Simply Being Me" collects tunes produced by producers Dean Fraser, John John and Computer Paul. The album kicks off with Sometimes, an excellent tune (thanks Britney Spears!) across Bob Marley's "Thank You Lord" riddim, followed by Pretty Girl which is based upon the Cables' "What Kind Of World" riddim, also used by Morgan Heritage for their number one hit "Down By The River". Track 4, Back At One is one of Sanchez' recent hitsingles, masterfully produced by John John. Jah Calling is the occasional roots tune on the album and is also one of the stand out tracks found here ! Hands Of Time is the inevitable R. Kelly cover. You won't believe this, but Naturally is Sanchez' rendition of an old Gilbert O'Sullivan tune. Next comes one of the best tunes of the album, the praising tune Watching Over Me.
Sanchez' latest album is a perfect showcase for one of the most versatile reggae vocalists.

Teacher & Mr. T.