Album review
Simply Irresistible
Kariang Records - Reggae One Luv

Tracking list

  1. Do That To Me One More Time
  2. Nunca Nunca (Spanish)
  3. Don't Go Away
  4. Irresistible (Spanish)
  5. Good Love featuring Lisa Danger
  6. Ordinary Love
  7. Mar De Amor (Spanish)
  8. Buenos Momentos (Spanish)
  9. Hurting Featuring Prezident Brown
  10. Fight No More
  11. Broken Heart
  12. Amor Ordinario (Spanish)
  13. Irresistible
  14. Bet You Never
  15. Bueno Amor (Spanish)
  16. Como Fue (Spanish)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Joanna-Marie's album "Simply Irresistible" combines the sweet soulful vocals of this female singer with the skillful production work of the Kariang team from Ocho Rios, Jamaica. The majority of the tracks on this polished album - mainly love songs delivered in English as well as Spanish - have a mainstream oriented sound which gives this album the potency to appeal to a very broad audience. Joanna-Marie's vocal delivery is flawless and so are the riddims that are provided by such fine musicians as Benjy Myaz, Ernest Ranglin, Ian "Beezie" Coleman, Paul Kastic and Mickey Chung. The album opener "Do That To Me One More Time" is a mediocre effort as Joanna-Marie's interpretation of Captain & Tenille's hit song adds little to the original, although it has been given a reggae flavour. Then "Good Love", a solid dancehall flavoured combination tune in which Joanna-Marie's vocals and the raw, unpolished voice of female deejay Lisa Danger meld surprisingly well together. Its straight vocal Spanish version "Bueno Amor" is a nice effort as well, although it sounds more modest. Buenos Momentos is Joanna-Marie's fine Spanish rendition of Bob Marley's "Nice Time", truly a song to enjoy. The same goes for "Fight No More" and "Broken Heart", which are both well worth listening to. "Simply Irresistible" is a very enjoyable album with nuff fine moments for music lovers in a romantic mood.

Teacher & Mr. T.