Album review
Sings Dennis Brown
Gregory Isaacs
March 22 - 2005

Tracking list

  1. No Man Is An Island
  2. Westbound Train
  3. Money In My Pocket
  4. Wolves And Leopards
  5. Love Has Found Its Way
  6. Inseparable
  7. How Could I Leave
  8. Cassandra
  9. Ghetto Girl
  10. If I Had The World To Give
  11. Love And Hate
  12. Hold On
  13. Prophet Rides Again
  14. Should I
  15. Tribulation
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Dennis Brown has to be considered one of the most prolific and popular reggae artists ever. He was born in 1956 and started recording for producer Coxsone Dodd, while still in his childhood. In the 70s and early 80s he established himself as a major force in reggae music with numerous roots and lovers cuts for several leading producers. In the nineties he remained a name always worth watching out for. He passed away on July 1st, 1999. A whole generation of Jamaican's and reggae fans literally grew up with his music. A devout Rastafarian and a member of the Twelve Tribes of Israel Organization, Dennis Brown was a musical genius and he will be dearly missed. No doubt Dennis Brown (also known as the Crown Prince of Reggae Music) was one of Jamaica's sweet-voiced singers, who has never limited himself to one style. Whether it is lovers rock, roots & culture or dancehall music, he truly could handle it all.
With over 35 years of experience in the reggae industry the one and only, veteran sound of Gregory Isaacs has become world renown. Nicknamed The Cool Ruler, Gregory Isaacs, born 1951, Kingston, Jamaica, has produced during his enduring career a trailer load of reggae classics. His effective combination of cultural songs and soul-wailing love songs was irresistable. He easily adapted the new digital style of the mid 80s, and his popularity further increased with consistent albums for King Jammy, King Tubby and Gussie Clarke. With dozens of excellent album releases like "Extra Classic", "More Gregory", "Mr. Isaacs", "The Lonely Lover", "Night Nurse" and "Red Rose For Gregory" Gregory Isaacs' catalog is immense. Gregory's voice and style are unique and are highly respected in the reggae arena.
Some two years back the album "Sings Gregory Isaacs" was put out containing covers of several well-known hits of Gregory Isaacs which Dennis recorded prior to his early passing in 1999. Now Gregory comes with his musical tribute to one of reggae's greatest and most loved artists, Dennis Brown. Gregory produced this set at his own Poor Peoples Studio in Kingston using Wrong Move (from Firehouse Crew) on keyboards and Flabba Holt (from Roots Radics) on bass. Gregory has gathered some of his musical brother's most noteworthy tunes. Most of them are classic Joe Gibbs productions, also a few Observer tunes here and the album kicks off with Dennis' best Studio One cut, No Man Is An Island. The final result is a nice testament from the musical icon and cool ruler Gregory Isaacs to his musical brother Dennis Brown and thus a perfect complement to 2003's "Dennis Brown Sings Gregory Isaacs".

Teacher & Mr. T.