Album review
Sings Gregory Isaacs
Dennis Brown
November 29 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Border
  2. Love Is Over Due
  3. Top Ten
  4. My Number One
  5. All I Have Is Love
  6. Front Door
  7. Night Nurse
  8. My Only Lover
  9. What A Feeling
  10. Soon Forward
  11. Tune In
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Dennis Brown has to be considered one of the most prolific and popular reggae artists ever. He was born in 1956 and started recording for producer Coxsone Dodd, while still in his childhood. In the 70s and early 80s he established himself as a major force in reggae music with numerous roots and lovers cuts for several leading producers. In the nineties he remained a name always worth watching out for. He passed away on July 1st, 1999. A whole generation of Jamaicanís and reggae fans literally grew up with his music. A devout Rastafarian and a member of the Twelve Tribes of Israel Organization, Dennis Brown was a musical genius and he will be dearly missed. No doubt Dennis Brown (also known as the Crown Prince of Reggae Music) was one of Jamaica's sweet-voiced singers, who has never limited himself to one style. Whether it is lovers rock, roots & culture or dancehall music, he truly could handle it all.
The album "Sings Gregory Isaacs" contains covers of several well-known hits of his musical brother, Gregory Isaacs, Dennis recorded prior to his early passing in 1999. Together Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs have sold over 1 million records world wide in the past years, and both artists are well respected by all reggae fans. The album is produced by Errol "Flabba" Holt of The Roots Radics band, the band that splendidly backed Gregory as well as Dennis on numerous occasions. The choice of tunes is obviously impeccable because Gregory wrote so many fine tunes, one can't go wrong here. Dennis brings the tunes as if it were self-penned songs, backed by a smooth playing backing band : drum programming: Errol Flabba Holt, bass guitar: Errol Flabba Holt, piano: Keith Sterling, Franklyn, Bubbler Waul, Lloyd Obeah Denton, synthesizer: Tony Asher, Keith Sterling, Franklyn Bubbler Waul, Lloyd Obeah Denton, rythym guitar: Cat Coore, Earl China Smith, lead guitar: Steve Golding, Earl China Smith, saxophone: Dean Fraser, Deadly Headley Bennett, Tony Mean Greene, trombone: Vin Gordon, Nambo Robinson, percussion: Errol Flabba Holt and harmony: Errol Flabba Holt, Glen Ricks & Dennis Brown himself.

Teacher & Mr. T.