Album review
Ska Express
Goldmaster Allstars
Goldmaster Records
28 - 09 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Gypsy Lee
  2. Scorcher
  3. Rocksteady Time feat. Gary James
  4. Sinner Man feat. Mr. Bassie
  5. Daybreak
  6. One More Around The Horn
  7. Rhode Island Rudester
  8. Never Too Long feat. Gary James
  9. The Don
  10. It's Getting Dark
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

The Goldmaster Allstars are a powerful and energetic act to see, playing a selection of Ska, Rocksteady and Reggae. With epic Ska instrumentals smooth Rocksteady vocal tracks and rude rolling Reggae riddims, The Goldmaster Allstars never fail to get everybody rocking. The compositions that the Allstars perform are their own melodys with an unmistakable Jamaican vibe. Besides having gigged selectively in the U.K. the band has spent the last year recording their brand new album entitled "Ska Express", the follow up to their solid debut set "Influence Of The Masters". Again we're treated to a very entertaining mixture of Ska, Rocksteady and Reggae, delivered by a band that makes a very solid impression. Although their music and influences are strongly rooted in the Jamaican music from the sixties and seventies these guys keep it fresh and original. This "Ska Express" set contains seven straight instrumental pieces and three vocal tracks. Although the latter are real nice efforts it are definitely the instrumentals that attract attention and are truly worth of hearing. Especially notable pieces such as "Gypsy Lee", "Scorcher", the superb "Daybreak" and "It's Getting Dark" fully deserve a push on the repeat button. Also worth mentioning is the wonderful "Rhode Island Rudester" which comes with a great jazz vibe. The Goldmaster Allstars know how to keep you rockin' and groovin' all the way! So, check them out!!

Teacher & Mr. T.