Nine Signs & Heavy Bliss
Sheya Mission
Goldheart Music
June 5, 2011

Nine Signs & Heavy Bliss - Sheya Mission Track list
  1. Sheya Theme
  2. Feels Like Rain
  3. Get Through
  4. Pray
  5. Going Down
  6. Somewhere
  7. Reggae Music feat. Leafnuts
  8. Colors
  9. Thanks
  10. Sheya Theme Cont'd
  11. Come Rain
  12. Show Me The River
  13. Never Let Me Down
  14. Growing
  15. Reveal Thyself
  16. Expectation
  17. Summertime
  18. Sweet Dreams
  19. Sheya Theme Outro
  20. Valley
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 6-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 10
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Although Sweden isn't exactly the country one will associate with Reggae music it certainly has played a role in the history of Reggae music, not only due to the fact that the one and only "King of Reggae" Bob Marley stayed in Stockholm during the early seventies to provide some songs for the soundtrack of a movie entitled "Love Is Not A Game". Nowadays Sweden has a group of devoted reggae fans who keep the reggae flame burning. That's why artists like Natural Way and, in this case, Sheya Mission can emerge and are able to get their music released. In 2005 the Goldheart Music label unleashed the single 'Valley b/w Take Me To The Hills' originally released in limited edition by Jonah Music in 1999. That release made a good impression and we're glad that her debut album 'Nine Signs & Heavy Bliss' finally hits the streets.

As a young woman of African descent growing up in a Western metropolitan environment she left for Jamaica, where she got stranded, but she was offered protection, teaching and wisdom by an uncompromising elderly rastaman who occupied land in the outskirts of Kingston. During her stay there she was impressed by the reasoning he was presenting. The sun, the moon and the stars and the infinite source of energy were among the many topics covered under the Jamaican sky!

Her appealing voice reminds us of Sade, the UK based singer who surprised the world in 1984 with her debut set 'Diamond Life'. Cool, but yet warm, sophisticated, jazzy and mysterious are the words one would use to describe Sheya's vocal delivery. Combined with excellent riddims, laid by the Swedish backing band and the superb clean production of Jonahgold this collection of tunes deserves to be heard by lovers of quality music all over the world. Thematically the album forms a bridge between spiritual bush-wisdom and modern city life.

Nature, earth, water, the basic elements of life are the themes present all over the album. The producer has managed to create a sound that suits these themes very well. The meditative atmosphere, combined with subtle spacy effects, vocal interjections and sound snippets create a unique sound. Don't expect an everyday reggae album, based on strong hooks and urging people to dance. This one's for the mind and body, bringing back faint memories of the 1972 'Caravanserai' album by Santana.

After a short intro the album grabs you with the song Feels Like Rain, as she tells us that "The love of Jah ... it feels like a rain". Backed by a splendid jazzy riddim it's one of the highlights of the album. That same theme returns on Come Rain It's hard to point out highlights here. Every song has its own strength. There's the ska-ish tune Going Down and the deep one drop interpretation of Gershwin's Summertime. Normally we don't appreciate that kind of covers, but Sheya's rendition is truthfully and an organic part of the album. The song Thanks combines an uptempo riddim with synth riffs from the early 90s. On Colors Sheya Mission looks at the colors all around us, the colors of nature. The backdrop is a fine one drop riddim. Reggae Music comes with some dancehall snippets/effects, and the combination with Swedish deejay Leafnuts works really good, although lyrically it ain't that strong and doesn't really fit the concept of this album. However we've to admit that these kind of tunes should be avoided by any self-respecting artist as they don't make sense and are annoying to listen to. On Expectation (with soundbwoy shouts in the background) she tels about her trip to Jamaica, but warns for "expectation, creates disappointment'.

Well... what can we say about this album. Album of the year? We don't know. It's not a mainstream reggae set, so we're afraid that it will remain a gem for only those who really want to open up for Sheya's mission.