Sounds Of The East
The Small Axe People
The Small Axe People
May 15, 2012

Track list
  1. Ying
  2. Yang
  3. Chin
  4. Chung
  5. Shanghai
  6. Beijing
  7. Chow Mein
  8. Mapo Tofu
  9. Shandong Luneng Taishan
  10. Changchun Yatai
  11. Taihao Fuxi
  12. Ling Lun
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Lead Instrument : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Towards the end of 2001 The Small Axe People's debut cd called "Original Version" hit the streets, and since then Ray Hurford -- founder and the man behind The Small Axe People -- has slowly but steadily expanded his catalogue of album releases, which includes titles such as "Creation", "Once Upon A Version", "Skank To Skank", "Skank Corner", "The Wild Version", and "Just Version", done in collaboration with Dennis Alcapone. Listening to these albums it's obvious that The Small Axe People try to tap into the spirit of the work of Andy Capp, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Lloyd Charmers, Herman Chin Loy and Augustus Pablo.

For this brand new album entitled "Sounds Of The East", Ray Hurford has gone back to the riddims of the debut set. In the tradition of Jamaica's popular music they have been revitalised by using them as a vehicle for the creation of a new collection of tunes. This time it's the melodica that plays an important role on the twelve tracks, and having one look at the titles it's obvious that these have something to do with China... its cities, football teams, symbols, etc. Of course, mentioning melodica immediatedly makes reggae aficionados think of Augustus Pablo as he's the most popular and best-known melodica player in reggae history. However in this case it isn't the sound of Augustus Pablo that inspired Ray Hurford, but the rugged approach of Glen Brown's melodica play, which suits the sound of the riddims much better. Thus it also ain't a surprise to learn that the title of this album is derived from Glen Brown's LP "Dub From The South East".

Just like its predecessors listeners need to lend an open ear and mind to this collection, because you really need to get into the "Sounds Of The East" to finally appreciate them.

For more info and free download of the album visit : www.smallaxepeople.com